main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

A&A The Official Matthew Woodring Stover Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Literature' started by The Gatherer, Feb 21, 2002.

1. jedimaster203

jedimaster203 Jedi Grand Master star 4

Dec 19, 1999
    I never really could get into the Gentlemen. I read the first book, and liked the story...its just that the writing didn't really draw me in.

I really want to like it...but mainly find myself indifferent.

That said, I think it is obligitory that we pimp Matt's newest novel, Caine's Law. That book is amazing.

Also, all of the Acts of Caine are on Audible now. They were very well done by Stephan Rudniki, a vet narrator. Definitely pick them up if you're into audiobooks.

2. instantdeath

instantdeath Jedi Grand Master star 5

Jul 22, 2010
    I listened to a sample of the Heroes Die audiobook... mixed reactions, really. I'm pretty new to audiobooks, and as of yet have never even listened to a full one, so I'm not sure if they tend to be closer to straight readings, or like audio dramas with one actor.

On one end, the narrator does have a very nice voice. On the other, not sure how well it fits. Caine's dialogue sounded strange coming from him; definitely doesn't have that "smartass" vibe. I remember Caine tells a character near the end of Blade of Tyshalle that if he ever sees him again, he'll "**** him up". I almost can't imagine the narrator saying a line like that without laughing.

That said, I imagine he'll make a damn fine Ma'elKoth.

On that subject, fun note; in this article, Rudniki actually singles the Acts of Caine books out among the 300+ he's recorded as some of his favorites. Pretty cool.

jedimaster203 likes this.
  3. jedimaster203

Dec 19, 1999
    I would say to give the audiobooks a chance, Instantdeath. They aren't for everybody, but I've listened to probably over 100 audiobooks, and Rudniki gives a hell of a performance.