main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Lit Ignorance is Bias: The Diversity Manifesto

Discussion in 'Literature' started by CooperTFN, Sep 2, 2012.

1. Gorefiend

Gorefiend Chosen One star 5

Oct 23, 2004
    The evil Neti in Red Harvest alone blows the Diversity scale. ;)

TrakNar and CeiranHarmony like this.
  2. Mechalich

Mechalich Jedi Grand Master star 4

Feb 2, 2010
    Understandable, and it's all well and good to call out companies on this sort of thing, just don't expect that calling anyone out is going to cause corporations to change. Such information needs to influence the fans first, and cause them to exercise their purchase power accordingly, or even raise the mass perception that they will do so (which is what is happening in the NFL vis a vis head trauma right now). It's all worth doing, I just get weary of watching people (including myself, I regulate business for a living, I'm very well acquainted with the amoral exploitation of loopholes) expend moral outrage on entities that are effectively impervious to it.

My focus is on finding things that can be changed without requiring changing the world at the same time, as I'm very much an incrementalist. There are pro-diversity moves that can be taken that are completely economically neutral or at least potentially economically positive (through pursuit of greater market share in uncommon demographics, allowing new storytelling through alternate cultures/species, or just making things look visually more detailed, etc.). There are also maneuvers we can advocate for where there is a legitimate regulatory authority that Lucasfilm/Disney is bound to respond to - the numbers I posted about the EU's almost entirely white authorship history could legitimately be construed as open to an equal oppurtunity challenge - it absolutely cannot be that hard to find talented minority authors who want to write for Star Wars.

3. beccatoria