main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Politics and Star Wars

Discussion in 'Star Wars Community' started by Poli-Sci Jedi, Jan 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Poli-Sci Jedi

Poli-Sci Jedi Jedi Youngling star 1

Jan 27, 2013
    Hi, I'm new to these threads, but thought I'd help kickstart a new line of discussion. I'm interested in the politics of Star Wars. I have a blog where I post analysis of political issues in the saga using political science research. Feel free to check it out at http://poliscijedi.blogspot.com

Hopefully, this thread can be a place where others interested in this topic can share there thoughts. Feel free to comment on my Facebook page too!

2. Catsmeow

Catsmeow Jedi Knight star 1

Sep 8, 2012
    I viewed your blog page and since I do not have face book I might as well type up my message here. A topic I saw on your blog was about Leia being a political hero, to be honest she is an action hero in my opinion.

Poli-Sci Jedi likes this.
  3. Poli-Sci Jedi

Jan 27, 2013
    I think she can be both!

4. CloneTrooperFox

CloneTrooperFox Jedi Knight star 1

Jan 27, 2013
    Never really thought of it. I kind of see her as both as well. Although i do see her as an action hero more than a political hero.

5. Poli-Sci Jedi

Jan 27, 2013

Yeah, she's probably more an action hero, but on the other hand in the Original Trilogy she's the only political hero. In other words, Luke and Han can both shoot blasters and fly ships, but only Leia can argue in the Senate or stare down Moff Tarkin.

6. Sistros

Sistros Jedi Grand Master star 6

Jul 24, 2010
    Politicians are "the voice for the people regardless of race, prejudice or privilege"

so you can't really say Luke or Han can't argue in the senate because we didn't see the senate in the OT

Leia on the other hand was a princess

so was she a politician in a general sense of the word?

that is the question