main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

VIDEO Red Dead Redemption

Discussion in 'Archive: Games' started by Ezio Skywalker, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Ezio Skywalker

Ezio Skywalker Jedi Master star 4

Jan 29, 2013
    So I finally sucked it up and bought this game today at Target for $19 (later found out that Amazon had the Game of the Year edition for $24 with shipping [face_plain] ).

Obviously at first I was kicking myself, but I probably never would have got the game if I hadn't seen it in the store. This game never really appealed to me, but I've incessantly heard how amazing it is and how I simply must give it a whirl.

That said, I just started playing and just met with the Sheriff of Armadillo for the first time. So far I'm not sure if I care for it. The graphics are beautiful and the voice acting is superb, but...it feels so dry and dull to me.

Guess I'm just not a fan of westerns.

2. Saintheart

Saintheart Jedi Grand Master star 6

Dec 16, 2000
    I found RDR a bit like GTA Vice City, actually -- there was more pleasure just in drifting around the landscape on my horse than actually doing missions as such. (Many's the hours I spent just driving in an open-top car up the coastline at sunset, just sitting back and listening to the car radio... :D )

It feels pretty dry, but to me that was a bonus: it's so dry it's gritty. :D

3. Ezio Skywalker

Jan 29, 2013
    I hope it picks up. I'm just not feeling it as is.

4. DarthMak

DarthMak Jedi Grand Master star 5

Jan 4, 2001
    The story does pick up. Once you get to Mexico the action really gets crazy. I loved this game but riding your horse from point A to point B got really tiresome. I guess I would've been a crappy cowboy.

Ezio Skywalker likes this.
  5. Darth_Invidious

Darth_Invidious Force Ghost star 6

Jun 21, 1999