main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

AOTC - From a Writer's POV

Discussion in 'Archive: Attack of the Clones' started by DarthLascivious, May 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarthLascivious

DarthLascivious Jedi Youngling

May 18, 2002
    Hey all. I'm hoping to get some feedback from other folks out there who write. What worked in AOTC and what didn't. How could it have been different. Please no "FX were cool" and "Yoda rocks" comments. Let's talk about the script and the plot - and what you might have done differently.

As a writer myself, I can't help but see a script scrolling away as the I watch ANY movie, not just Star Wars. So I'll get the ball rolling. And let me get out of the way that I loved this movie as a fan, thought it was better than TPM and was thoroughly entertained for 2+ hours. That said....

The majority of my criticism (good and bad) assumes that the story from point A to B works. How we get there is the real problem.

PLOT

The plot of Clones can be compared to Empire pretty easily. Imagine an oval, pointed at the ends like a football. Both films start with our heroes at the point on the left, whereupon they diverge, one along the top arc and one along the bottom, until they meet again at the end of the movie, or the point on the left. Pretty simple. And effective! It?s a classic structure, and there?s a reason it?s classic.

A friend of mine thought Clones? plot line was too confusing and preferred the more linear plot of Phantom Menace. Actually, I found the overall plot easier to follow in Episode II, and less predictable. And still very linear. Kudos to George and Hales for avoiding the four-plots at once method from the ending of TPM.