main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Tips & Tricks Fabric dyeing

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by rogue_09, Sep 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rogue_09

rogue_09 Jedi Padawan star 4

Jul 2, 2003
    What is the easiest way to dye fabric? I'm making my Jedi outfit and I need to dye the fabric a darker color. I am completely new at any fabric work so I have no idea how to do it.

Many thanks in advance.

2. Raef_Wolfe

Raef_Wolfe Jedi Padawan star 4

Jul 12, 2003
    What kind of fabric is it? How much do you have? What color is it already?

3. rogue_09

Jul 2, 2003
    I don't have the fabric yet, but I will be getting a cotton fabric that is a very light cream/beige, almost white and I need it to be a darker coffee brown. As for how much, I'm not sure yet, I haven't determined that. Enough for a couple tunics and pants at least, if not everything.

4. Sister_Sola

Sister_Sola Manager Emeritus star 4 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Nov 19, 2002
    Yay a thread about fabric dyeing!!!

I don't have any tips to post yet but I will in a couple of weeks after I've done my first dyeing project.

I've asked Obi-Dawn Kenobi and Ferdalump for advice however, which they may end up posting in here. kay_dee mentions dyeing in the Picnic Dress thread too.

5. FERDALUMP

FERDALUMP Jedi Youngling star 3

May 12, 2002