main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

PT Plot Holes and Inconsistencies in the Prequel Trilogy

Discussion in 'Prequel Trilogy' started by janstett, Sep 13, 2011.

1. princethomas

princethomas Jedi Master star 2

Nov 19, 2001
    Hi. I've only just started reading a lot of this fascinating debate, but I wanted to jump in with one thing.

I saw where you said Self-Discipline cannot be taught, it has to be self-taught. And I couldn't disagree with that more.

It CAN be self taught. But it absolutely can and NEEDS to be taught.

Especially in extremely talented individuals. Kids who excell in anything, from athletics to art to academics desperately need to be worked with to instill ideas of self-discipline because they are at much greater risk of not learning it on their own.

Kids who struggle or perform at average or slightly higher levels can learn to regulate how much practice/training/research/study they need based upon their needs and their level of desire to succeed. Kids that can achieve great things without feeling like they are trying, really really struggle later when their activities start to get harder. I know a great deal about kids who have been "off the charts" academically in elementary school only to struggle mightily when math and basic algebra turns to advanced algebra and Trig. They simply don't know how to study or moreso lack the compusure it takes to "make yourself" study.

With Athletes its also very similar. "Naturals" and "Born" athletes tend to really hit a wall when they hit the high school level or even college. When their level of competition finally starts to approach their own, they struggle with knowing how to do the work to stay on top.