main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Complete beginner on a very small budget

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by jcgoble3, Jan 30, 2013.

1. jcgoble3

jcgoble3 Chosen One star 6

Nov 7, 2010
    Hello. For a few years, I've been wearing a set of Jedi robes I purchased off of eBay. I've worn it to CV and CVI and for a few Halloweens. However, it's a royal pain in the *** to work with, being very uncomfortable and difficult to move around in. It's also not screen-accurate. I'd like to explore the possibility of making my own, more comfortable, and maybe more accurate Jedi robes. The problem is that I have never touched a sewing machine (I do have access to one if needed, but probably not the instruction manual or anyone that can teach me how to use it) and have practically no experience with sewing by hand. I am also on a small fixed income and so can't afford to spend a whole lot; ideally I need to keep the cost under $100 to $200 (but I don't even know if it's even reasonably possible to do it on that little).

I'm not looking for perfect screen accuracy down to the last detail or the level of quality required by costuming groups like the Jedi Assembly here, just something a bit more comfortable and easier to move around in that I can take some level of pride in knowing that I made it myself. The basic robes (tunic, pants, cloak, and maybe the belt) are all I need to start out with; accessories like pouches, a lightsaber, and proper boots can come later when I have more money and experience. So two questions:

1. Is my budget of $100 to $200 reasonable for what I'm looking to do, and if not, about what cost would I realistically be looking at?
    2. Roughly how much time should I expect to spend on this, given my total lack of sewing experience?

Thanks in advance for any answers!

2. Miana Kenobi

Miana Kenobi Admin Emeritus star 8 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Apr 5, 2000