main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Padme Amidala The Black Corset Piece

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by Amidala_wannabe, Mar 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. widow_skywalker

widow_skywalker Jedi Youngling star 3

Jul 5, 2005
    4376 is what I used for the skirt. i used a historical pattern for the corset, though.

2. Sakara

Sakara Jedi Youngling star 2

Jun 8, 2005
    yeah ive got a proper metal boned corset pattern to work with too!

3. widow_skywalker

Jul 5, 2005
    metal boned is the way to go. The plastic just doesn't last.

4. Sakara

Sakara Jedi Youngling star 2

Jun 8, 2005
    yeah i hate the way plastic boning once you say bent over stays bent. Ive been wearing metal boned corsets for a few years now so i know 'how' to wear them for long periods!!lol

5. widow_skywalker

Jul 5, 2005
    Me too. The first time was an experience.

6. Neimhaille

Neimhaille Jedi Master star 3

May 12, 2002
    :p You just need to use plastic properly;) It's a whalebone (baleen) substitute so needs to be used like baleen actually was;) Which was rather different to the way boning is used now. There was a lot more of it used in each corset for one thing;) Also boned bodiced were worn over heavily boned corsets and so were not used for support;) Just to keep the bodice fitted smoothly over the corset.

For this costume, a mixture would be fine (depending also on the other materials used in construction. Steels in the front and either spiral steels or plastic at the sides for good waist definition.

Anyway.