main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Anakin's piloting skills as seen throughout the Saga

Discussion in 'Star Wars Saga In-Depth' started by YodaJeff, Feb 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. YodaJeff

YodaJeff Manager Emeritus star 7 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Oct 18, 2001
    "I'm a pilot, you know, and someday I'm gonna fly away from this place."
    - Anakin Skywalker, The Phantom Menace

"He was the best starpilot in the galaxy."
    - Obi-Wan Kenobi, A New Hope

"When I first knew him, your father was already a great pilot."
    - Obi-Wan Kenobi, Return of the Jedi

I've seen this issue discussed before, both in the TPM and AOTC forums. However, those discussions tend to focus on (the lack of) Anakin's "piloting" skills in the prequels, and often degenerate into basher/gusher wars. I figured the Saga forum would be the perfect place to discuss his piloting skills (or lack there of) as seen in the entire Saga.

Yes, I realize that we haven't seen Episode 3 yet, and that could easily change some of our perspective. However, I think we've seen enough in the other 5 films to at least start discussing this topic.

The first time that Anakin Skywalker is portrayed as a pilot is in The Phantom Menace, when he says, "I'm a pilot, you know, and someday I'm gonna fly away from this place." While it doesn't tell us much about his piloting, it establishes to the viewer that Anakin is a pilot. Later, in The Phantom Menace, we see Anakin's piloting skills during the podrace. Some would argue that podracing isn't "piloting", but since we did see 3 dimensions of movement (albeit limited), and because it involves steering a vehicle that doesn't come in contact with the ground, I would consider it piloting. Since no human had ever won a podrace before, let alone a 9 year old human, I would consider that alone "great piloting".