main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Art Archive [Book] 'You Can Draw: Star Wars' - Coming Winter 2006

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by LAJ_FETT , Sep 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LAJ_FETT

LAJ_FETT Tech Admin (2007-2023) - She Held Us Together star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

May 25, 2002
    I checked down a bunch of pages and didn't see anything on this. You Can Draw: Star Wars - written by Bonnie Burton and illustrated by Matt Busch and Tom Hodges will be published in winter 2006. There is more information and a few sample pages here on TOS. Sounds like a good Christmas present for any budding fan artists!

2. HanSolo29

HanSolo29 RPF/SWC/Fan Art Manager & Bill Pullman Connoisseur star 7 Staff Member Manager

Apr 13, 2001
    Wow! That'll be a nice book for beginners definitely! I'll probably pick this book up just because I'm an artist and I'm curious about some of the tutorials. :p

But blah! On the preview, there is one MAJOR thing that is bothering me! They have the proportions of the figure wrong]! The human figure is 7 1/2 - 8 heads tall, not 9! Grr... [face_frustrated]

3. Robal_Krahl

Robal_Krahl Jedi Grand Master star 5

Dec 23, 2003

I can see why they did that; instead of counting the entire head, they end it at the mouth, which would definately throw things off a bit. Had they gone from top of the head to the chin, Han would be about 7 1/2 - 8 heads tall rather than 9.

4. HanSolo29

HanSolo29 RPF/SWC/Fan Art Manager & Bill Pullman Connoisseur star 7 Staff Member Manager

Apr 13, 2001
    Hmm...I see it now, however, I've never seen that in an anatomy book before. Even in my anatomy class, they taught us to use the entire head. Not sure if ending it at the mouth is the best way to teach it. At least with the entire head, you have a solid, whole shape to measure by. I think for beginniner drawers, the method they have in the book will be way more difficult.