main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Non-SW Fan Art board - Yes or No?

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Mar17swgirl, Sep 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mar17swgirl

Mar17swgirl Chosen One star 7

Dec 26, 2000
    The title pretty much says it all. We already have a Non-SW fanfic board, and while it's not as populated as the main SW fanfic section, it definitely has a place on these boards and its own community of people who post there regularly.

So, if fanfic can have it, why not fan art as well? I'm sure there are a lot of talented artists around these boards who do art outside the SW fandom and would like to share it with other JCers.

2. HanSolo29

HanSolo29 RPF/SWC/Fan Art Manager & Bill Pullman Connoisseur star 7 Staff Member Manager

Apr 13, 2001
    There will always be a following for non-SW art - as an artist myself, I'm always delving in all kinds of subject matter - the issue that I have with this right now is the actual traffic it'll generate. I'm going to put it right out there on the table and say that I don't think it'll be enough to warrant a new board. Fan Art is a slow board so as it is with an average of about 5-10 posts a day. We do have a dedicated group of regulars that come in and post and comment on artwork all the time, but I don't think it'll be nearly enough to kick-start a new community. Now, it is quite possible that a non-SW board will bring in new people. And if that's the case, I think they fail to realize what Fan Art currently offers as it stands right now.