main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Lit Literature member interviews

Discussion in 'Literature' started by Point Given , Jun 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anakinfansince1983

anakinfansince1983 Skywalker Saga/LFL/YJCC Manager star 10 Staff Member Manager

Mar 4, 2011
    I'm a school librarian in Charlotte and I've worked in several schools in NC over the past 20 years (taught for awhile before going for my masters). One big problem I've seen is the reluctance to have a student repeat a grade, whether because of concern over the student's ego and dropout rates for kids who were retained, or because too many retentions make the school look bad, but kids are being passed on without achieving grade level appropriate skills.

I'd be a billionaire if I knew what the solution was.

s65horsey : The Wire is one of the shows I've been meaning to try.

2. Jedi Ben

Jedi Ben Chosen One star 9

Jul 19, 1999
    The Wire is awesome, so smart but entertaining with it. Be warned though: On each series my wife and I got to an ep that was a tipping point and we ended up blitzing the rest of the series. Started watching ep 7 or 8 of series 1, then watched the next 6 finishing at 2.00am!

3. krtmd

krtmd Jedi Master star 4

Sep 5, 2012
    I concur re. The Wire - both on the quality of the show and the binging aspect.

Also, one whole season revolves around a school setting - certainly topical to the current OT discussion in this thread.

4. Jedi Ben

Jul 19, 1999
    What makes that setting so much more brilliant is it's in the wake of the show's first big arc concluding and you see these kids going to school, being told they can do this and that but the deck's stacked against them from the start! The bit with the headteacher making the sign of the cross as the bell for the start of the day and the term is a great moment.

krtmd likes this.
  5. ma_petite

ma_petite Jedi Grand Master star 4