main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Mobile Development (e.g. Android, iOS, etc)

Discussion in 'Archive: Fan Design - Sites and Graphics' started by darth_nemisis, Oct 5, 2010.

1. darth_nemisis

darth_nemisis Jedi Grand Master star 6

May 15, 2004
    Hey everyone (all two of you?)! It's been a while since I have posted on these boards, mainly because of classes. Another reason is because of the focus I am trying to put into mobile development. Back in the day, I spent a lot of time working on Web sites (anyone remember stormBoards, the offshoot of hailboards?). Well, last year I bought an Android phone and it got me extremely interested in Android Development. So, I thought I would post a thread here in order to broaden the horizons of this forum a bit, towards a more general sense of programming/development (instead of just Web sites). Even though I am an Android Developer/user thought I should include the iPhone in here since that is an extremely popular device amongst developers - one could argue that it paved the way for this surge towards mobile development.

Over the summer (in between my two jobs as a Web developer and bar patron), I decided to code up a simple app for Android devices that taught me the basics of the way Android works. I made a salary calculator, called it EasySal Calculator and published it just over a month ago (you can view my Web site by clicking the following:http://asandroid.blogspot.com/). If you read my latest blog post, you will see just how shocked I am at the amount of downloads I have received. Just last week I reached over 1,000 downloads, and am already up to nearly 1400 now. It's incredible. I credit that to the recent rise in Android powered phones.

So, has anyone else published any apps on any of the mobile app stores? Or are you interested in doing so?

2. Grimby

Grimby Technical Consultant & Former Head Admin star 7 Staff Member Administrator

Apr 22, 2000