main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Taoism and disappearing Jedi

Discussion in 'Star Wars Saga In-Depth' started by Mex, Dec 20, 2000.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mex

Mex Jedi Youngling

Dec 20, 2000
    Hi there, just picked up something interesting (I hope ) on the spiritual of Star Wars. To me StarWars movies have always essentially been Taoist movies, for whole concept of the Force strongly reminds me of Taoist philosophy, with the unifying Force being the Tao and the living Force being the energy-field Chi. And lets face it, in EP V Yoda is introduced as the perfect taoist hermit. And now I found further evidence in support.

A few days ago i got a book by taoist master Mantak Chia, "Awaken Healing Light from the Tao". Essentially it describes taoist energy practices and their spiritual background. Now a major part of taoist practice is the process of "Inner Alchemy", during which the adept gradually cultivates a spirit body, thereby attaining immortality. Inner Alchemy proceeds in several steps, beginning with healing and cleansing the physical body and ending with the transformation of the physical body into the spirit body. And here it comes. On the next to last step of Inner Alchemy, Chia writes (I quote): "At this level one transfers all physical essence into the immortal body. When all the body's material elements are transformed into subtle Chi, what remains is known as the "rainbow body". When a master of this level leaves this world, there is nothing left of the physical body but nails and hair." (pp.8-9). Is this behind our disappearing Jedi, and maybe is it also behind the non-disappearance of Qui-Gon (he didn't complete the Inner Alchemy far enough, perhaps dying too young or being too concerned with the Living Force)? To add to the StarWars-Taoism connection,on the first page of the book there is a short text titled "The Goal of this Book" and it's last sentence i