main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Tips & Tricks The Basic Costuming Tips Thread

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by JediToren, Nov 16, 2002.

1. Jayne

Jayne Jedi Youngling star 2

Oct 16, 2002
    I have long knife pleats on a skirt. How can I make them stay after dressing and ironing them? I've heard of ironing fishing line into them, but mine didn't melt enough. Any ideas?

2. studiocreations

studiocreations Jedi Youngling star 3

Jul 18, 2000
    Someone was looking for this topic recently so I thought I would "bump" it to the front of the costuming forum once again. Anyone got any new tips to share?

-sc

3. donsolo

donsolo Jedi Youngling star 2

Jul 3, 2004
    I'm very new to costuming and even newer to sewing... so far I've got a decent robe I need to wash before heming, and that's about it. I bought a McCalls pattern for the Tunics, but I need a very simple beginner's guide to sewing that won't scare me away... anyone help?

4. surlygirlie

surlygirlie Manager Emeritus star 4 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Aug 1, 2000
    Hi, donsolo!

There are a great many beginner's sewing books to be found on the market. (Sewing for Dummies gets mixed reviews, just FYI.)
    In my experience, different sewing guides work for different people -- what may explain the process thoroughly clearly to one person may make no sense to another.
    I would recommend hitting your nearest large chain bookstore, plopping down in the Arts & Crafts section, and paging through as many guides as you can get your hands on. See which one makes the most sense to you, and buy that one.

I hope your entry into the world of stitching is fun and fruitful!

5. Jedi_Kai

Jedi_Kai Jedi Padawan star 4

May 27, 2001
    OR go to the library. Every library in which I've looked has a number of how to sew books. They may be old, but not much has changed in BASIC sewing! ;)

6. Darth_Eagle

Darth_Eagle Jedi Master star 4

Jul 19, 2001