A bit of help, please.

Discussion in 'Games' started by ShinkuEX, Feb 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ShinkuEX Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Hopefully I'm posting this in the right boards. I recently purchased a PC copy of Star Wars: Knight of the Old Republic. The installation went smoothly, but I've seemed to run into a bit of a problem.

    When I click game, the Ebon Hawk appears for a few moments, but then disappears and the game doesn't start. When I try again, I get something like this:

    http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e284/elscourge/480b90a0.gif

    I'm not good with computers, so any help would be appreciated. :)
  2. General_BlackLegion Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2004
    star 5
    #1: Is your copy of Windows on English as a language???
    #2: Try restarting your PC and see if that works, maybe RAM issues
    #3: Reinstall if it fails the reboot test, maybe it was a corrupt install.

    EDIT: Although the install looks good at first, corrupts do happen without warnings...
  3. jp-30 Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2000
    star 9
    Odd that the warning message uses non english characters.

    Anyway, best to ensure your video card drivers are up to date as a first course of action when it comes to KOTOR problems.
  4. ShinkuEX Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Feb 22, 2007
    So I should check my video card and/or reinstall.

    Thanks for the tips. Hopefully this'll solve the issues at hand.
  5. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
  6. General_BlackLegion Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2004
    star 5
    I can run the game without the patch installed. Yes graphics is a problem, so is RAM errors.
  7. jp-30 Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2000
    star 9
    Many graphics cards need the patch. You're just lucky yours doesn't.
  8. ShinkuEX Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Well, I tried everything listed here and I still get the same problem. Maybe it is my video card. I found out it's a Trident Video Accelerator Blade 3D/ProMedia.

    I take it this card isn't good for this game, so can anyone recommened one with a decent price tag on it?

    Thanks in advance.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.