main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

A Few Questions about Episode 4

Discussion in 'Classic Trilogy' started by dave75, Jun 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dave75

dave75 Jedi Youngling

Jun 21, 2005
    Hi, forgive me but I'm a newbie to the original trilogy.

When R2 and 3PO were sold to Owen Lars, why didn't he recognize them? And why did C3PO not recognize his home
    planet, and R2 recognize Obi-Wan or Owen? Where were they between Episode 3 and 4 anyway?

This was the first time I saw Episode 4 since seeing the original trilogy. In the rematch between Obi-Wan and Vader at the end of ANH, it seemed ObiWan went down VERY easily, a big disappointment after the climactic duel at the end of Episode 3. What gives? How could the old master just go down like that - it looked like he just gave up. I know Obi-Wan's older, but so is Vader. I remember thinking that for a guy who was half melted in Lava, he sure has a lot of physical strength (physically choking officer aboard Leia's ship)

Maybe I missed something, but how could Obi-Wan know that Vader was Anakin? At the end of the duel in Ep3 he left Anakin
    for dead on that lava world (if did not believe Anakin was dead, he would have finished him off right then and there since he was such a grave threat), so I can only assume that he would have heard of Darth Vader in the meantime and that Anakin actually revealed himself as Darth Vader to Obi-Wan at the end of Ep3 (maybe I missed that). Otherwise, Obi-Wan and Owen and the others must have assumed Anakin was dead.

Chewbaca was left on his planet after he rescued Yoda. How did he wind up on Tattoine with Han Solo and Jaba?? Did I miss Episode 3.5 somewhere?

2. jedi_master_ousley

jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus star 8 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Jun 14, 2002
    Here we go again...