main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

A Galactic Weapons Maker says HI!

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by idrman, Dec 31, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. idrman

idrman Jedi Youngling

Jul 23, 2004
    Hi!

I'm new to the board. I was told about this forum by a customer of mine, who's a member here. He thought that my talents could be of used to some of you. And it looks like this is a really cool board. I'm glad to introduce myself.

I'm an indy filmmaker and artist from Downstate NY. I am also a huge SW fan. As an indy filmmaker, I have been making props, special effects prosthetics make-up, and costumes for the past fifteen years.

As an artist, I am very meticulous about concept and final product. The sort of props that were available didn't really do it for me, so I wanted to create something that fit in with the Jedi ideas of unique sabers for each warrior. Also, I wanted something realistic, to complete the fantasy of the objects.

One of my hobbies is the study of weapons mechanics, and a few years ago, I decided to do some research into theoretical physics, regarding High-yield Energy weaponry. I came across some interesting stuff that would apply to lightsabers, if it were written out in sci-fi terms. That got me thinking... why not make a prop lightsaber that was as realistic as possible...with internal parts, able to be field stripped, with a weapons manual... etc. So I began working on a lighsaber with detailed guts, and started writing a book on lightsabers as real weapons. Once I fabricated several models, and wrote several brief weapons manuals, I decided to create an online prop site to offer my saber artwork to fans like me.

I have two sites right now.

Advanced-Light Weaponry is my saber-props site.

Ablution Valley Arts is my artist site, which contains pics of my sculptures, paintings, etc., and where you can download several of my short films.