main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

A Guide to Building a Website

Discussion in 'Archive: Fan Design - Sites and Graphics' started by darth_nemisis, Aug 1, 2009.

1. darth_nemisis

darth_nemisis Jedi Grand Master star 6

May 15, 2004
    Welcome to darth_nemisis' guide to building a website. I have thrown together a quick guide that will assist any new website creator in their creation and designing of a web site. This will cover the broad aspect of the creation of a website, and will not get that specific (but feel free to ask questions if you want specifics).

Note: I am not an expert on this topic. These are simple suggestions and tips that I have gathered over the years.

1.) Why are you creating a website?

First, you should decide why you want to create a website. What purpose will it serve when there are literally hundreds and thousands of websites out there? You will need to ask yourself:

~Who are your potential viewers?
    ~What are your goals for the website?
    ~What sets your website apart from others?
    ~How do you plan on setting your website apart from the others?
    ~How do you plan on keeping up with viewer expectation?

These are just a few questions that will help you build an even greater, more successful website.

2.) Choose a topic for your website.

You will need to create an interesting, unique topic for your website. As I stated earlier, there are tons and tons of websites available to net-goers and, chances are, your site will probably not be unique. So, you will need something that will draw in viewers and something that will keep their attention to your website. For a more in-depth look at this subject, go here.