main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

MN A perspective on the Force, and the Dark Side

Discussion in 'MidWest Regional Discussion' started by red5angel, Apr 11, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. red5angel

red5angel Jedi Youngling star 1

Mar 5, 2002
    Well, reading the NJO books and reading up on the latest AOTC stuff, dont worry no spoilers here, I have been thinking alot jst about the struggle the Jedi have with the force. As a martial artist, I struggle with a similar but much more mundane issue. It helps though to bring to light what it is they are going through.
    As a Jedi, they must define rules to live by. This helps to warn and possibly stop anyone who may begin the slow spiral to the darkside. These rules are a must but sometimes they have to be broken.
    The Jedi also struggle with those who abuse the force for thier own goals ruining the reputation of the Jedi being the least of the problems they deal with. Causing harm to others being one of the greatest.

As a martial artist, I must think in much the same way. We as martial artist have rules we have to live by. Legally we can be held responsible for our actions in a way your average person cannot. In a confrontation we must decide what level of force is necessary. For those who follow the "good path" we struggle with the question "what must I do to protect myself and my loved ones, or even innocent bystanders? How far would I go?" How can the skills I have be used to better my life and those lives around me?