main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

A simple question for y'all

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by qarlwithaq, May 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. qarlwithaq

qarlwithaq Jedi Youngling

Mar 23, 2003
    It's nothing dealing with "how do I do this," or "what's the best way to do that," or a misplaced post (which I have had so many of, what can I say? I'm a newbie).

How long did it take you people to learn all these programs and become fluent with them? editing programs, special effect programs, 3d programs, so many programs to learn. I realize that not everyone knows all of these, but it sure seems like a lot of you guys do.

I know I shouldn't feel discouraged, because I'm just starting out and just finished my first movie (for a spanish project. I had Obi-Juan Quijote battle Darth Maulino. good times), but I can't help but feel lost among the "masters."

2. Krapitino

Krapitino Jedi Padawan star 4

Jun 11, 2002
    Photoshop... A few years. Just now am I getting good with it. Ditto for NLEs, but a fresh switch from Premiere to Vegas means I'm back a bit on the learning curve.

AE has been helped by my Photoshop knowledge, but I am not quite sure about my skill. I cannot think up a new exciting effect, but I think I can tackle ideas pretty well; I can't say with any certainty tho. Overall, about 5 months to get from newb to sabers, blasters, matchmoving, crawls, compositing, and misc.

3. queenofthegeeks

queenofthegeeks Jedi Youngling star 1

May 16, 2003
    Don't feel too bad. I'm still getting the hang of it all, too. But, to follow up on what the poster above me said - I started working with Photoshop in either '98 or '99. That's helping a lot.