main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

A Woman's view of Padme, Tragic figure, heroine, victim or something else.

Discussion in 'Archive: Attack of the Clones' started by IamZam, Jun 10, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IamZam

IamZam Jedi Grand Master star 5

May 19, 2002
    This is a continuation of an issue that came up in another thread taking it hopelessly off topic.

Is Padme a tragic victim or is she a heroine, or ??

a couple of snippets to give you an idea, if anyone minds let me know, I am still new at this.

"How convenient, that once again, the woman pays the highest price of all. I'm not going to watch Episode III. I'm through with tragedy, even in the guise of entertainment."

" don't despise her, in fact, I don't like the fact she's going to be removed entirely from the picture because she becomes the ultimate victim. The victim that the story inevitably hinges around in some far off, distant way, like an old book on a shelf that we forget about after we've read it, and never mention again but briefly in passing. Episode III will be a man's movie. Some women will like it for its romantic tragedy, but a woman with some fight in her will not. The guys will love it. I use to love these films, but the more I think about what happens to Padme, the more disgusted it makes me."
    Undomiel

'She is Queen Irgraine, she is Gueneviere, she is every great heroine in all of literature. Her fault is that she falls in love with a flawed man. She allows herself to feel, and to be loved when she should have remained a boring politician. She finally discovers who she really is, and then her husband, her way of life, are taken away from her forever. Is it fair that she dies? Personally I think it will be her choice to die, she'll fold in upon herself until there's nothing left. PadmeLeiaJaina