main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Roch, NY "Allow myself to introduce... myself..."

Discussion in 'NorthEast Regional Discussion' started by SithPriestess, Jun 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SithPriestess

SithPriestess Jedi Youngling

Jun 7, 2007
    Hi! My name is Ceridwen Troy, and though I've browsed these forums in the past, this is my first time posting. So, I thought I'd take the time to introduce myself.

I'm twenty-two years old, and am currently finishing up my bachelor's degree in Creative Writing from SUNY Geneseo. My partner and I just moved into Rochester, and are now living in an apartment in the 19th Ward. My hope is that one day my writing will earn some money, but until then, I'm looking for work in the city.

About my history with Star Wars: I first saw Episodes VI, V, and VI when I was ten years old, when LucasFilm released the THX-remastered editions on VHS. However, in a way, I was a fan long before that. When I was little, I had a set of Star Wars bedsheets that my mom had bought from the Salvation Army. The images burned into my brain; I'd make up my own stories of what the different characters (whose names I didn't even know) might be doing. I wanted so badly to see the movies they were based on. My parents are quite religious, though, so it took a lot of convincing (read: begging) before they'd let me see them. When we got the boxed set, I watched all three movies right away, and I was instantly hooked. Princess Leia was my favorite character instantly, since that type of strong female character was pretty much absent from the Disney films and musicals I was raised on. (Though, I was always disappointed that she didn't become a Jedi like Luke, especially after Return of the Jedi revealed she had the power too.)