main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Toronto Anyone has information for film editor? like film school etc.

Discussion in 'Canada Discussion Boards' started by XiaoXiao, Aug 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. XiaoXiao

XiaoXiao Jedi Youngling

Aug 9, 2008
    Hi everyone,

I realized that I like dealing with videos much more than data. However, I am a 4th year student and will be graduate in 1 or 1.5 years. But hobbies are not career and I know nothing about film production. However, I do love film editing, it is like telling a story on the big screen. Working with a director and edit the footage into a film and show it to people is my dream, though I don't know how to begin. I learnt software for making music videos all by myself last year and tried some. That is why I realized that this is what I like to do in my life. So, this is my situation.

I am currently living in Toronto and want to meet some friends. If anyone have some ideas about a good film school in Canada, internships, work training etc. Could you tell me? Thanks a lot. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9T1Gt4IrX0 this is one of my mvs I made half a year ago. All the others are for Chinese series. They were my hobbies and I want to change it to my career after 3 or 4 years. (graduation - job - raise money for film school education.) This is my plan, any suggestions? advices? please tell me. Thanks a billion.

Have a good week.
    Xiao

2. Spiderfan

Spiderfan Jedi Knight star 5

Mar 9, 2004
    To the best of my knowledge the Toronto Film School is the only one in the city that offers a program in digital editing. Unfortunately the school is closing its doors in January permanently. However, if you want to learn video editing there are a few things I can suggest.

1) Shop for text books and buy the software yourself and learn on your own.