JCC Apple/Mac discussion

Discussion in 'Community' started by KnightWriter, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. Jedi_Reject_Jesse Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 26, 2004
    star 7
    Now that's what I want. 15" or 17"?

    So, Macs. I was raised on them...I still have the HD from the old Centris we used, complete with Oregon Trail installed, and my mother's disertation... :D
    Starting high school, we switched over to PC and my main experience with computers was with Windows...But as an aspiring filmmaker, I am aware of the incomparable Mac editing programs and hope to make the switch back to them once I come into some money. Also, I am waiting for the intel core duo powered PowerMac line.
    My current mac is one of the last G3 imacs, graphite colored with slot-loading CD burner. 70 bucks at a thrift store. It sucks, but it performs better than the family Gateway.
  2. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
    imo Mac's are great for home video editing but a PC running Avid is faaaaar superior to any Mac running FCP, without a doubt. FCP is easier for the average punter to use but Avid has it all over FCP in managing bulk media, which is what you need when you're cutting reems of television or film footage. Avid falls down in its audio and video effects but those kind of specialised things in a professional situation require speiclaised software, whereas FCP is a basic all-in-one package.
  3. DVeditor Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 21, 2001
    star 6
    Thing is more and more studios are looking to FCP as their main editing solution. A full Avid suite is still so pricey that a lot of places made the switch and cut their pieces on a Mac platform.

    Now, I still know of several large studios that use full Avid suites, but you'd be surprised how many recent movies were edited on FCP. ;)


    I looked at a benchmark for running video-intensive workloads and those things were matching up with the Dual 2.5 GHz G5 towers. Unreal. [face_hypnotized]
  4. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    I have final cut express, it works quite well on here. ;)
  5. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    I looked at a benchmark for running video-intensive workloads and those things were matching up with the Dual 2.5 GHz G5 towers. Unreal.


    The remarkable thing is really that the Yonah (otherwise known as the Core Duo) is merely a transition processor, as both Conroe and Merom are set to arrive later this year. It's basically a better version of the Pentium M. Hard to believe that with the arrival of the aforementioned processors, the Pentiums will be gone.
  6. Jaina Byrd Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 21, 1999
    star 4
    I'm running a Powerbook G4 and MacMini right now (the mini's more like a storage space these days)... I'm so jealous of you Macbook people! =P~
  7. ThrawnRocks Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 10, 2004
    star 6
    Yes! Mac users unite! :D


    I'm running a PowerBook G4, which is sadly disabled due to the fact that it's hinges broke, and is now propped up on a box, and is effectively a desktop :p I hate to say it, but I've had some issues with mac hardware if you couldn't tell :p


    However, I still love Macs, most of all OS X, which is much better and easier to use than any Windows OS I've used.


    Mitt: I had a friend who was going to buy a Mac Mini, but it turns out that if you were to buy all the other hardware you need, it will cost about as much as an iMac, so I would say go with the iMac unless your willing to get some really cheap hardware.
  8. Star_Rocker Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 16, 2006
    star 4
    Macs are good for video and sound editing.
    But not for games.
    But OSX uses alot less computing power than windows.
  9. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    I have some friends in a band that have recorded some stuff on garage band, it is extremely high quality. I love it.
  10. moosemousse CR - FF:UK South

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2004
    star 6
    Not true, according to a magazine Vista was rated better than OS X in all but one catagory, and that was security. The scores were:

    Usability:
    Vista: 8
    MacOSX: 7

    Security:
    Vista: 8
    MacOSX: 8

    Entertainment:
    Vista: 9
    MacOSX: 7

    Bundled Apps:
    Vista: 8
    MacOSX: 5

    Eccosystem:
    Vista: 10
    MacOSX: 9

    Mobility:
    Vista: 8
    MacOSX: 6

    Gaming
    Vista: 8
    MacOSX: 5

    Business:
    Vista: 9
    MacOSX: 8

    Total
    Vista: 68
    OS X: 55

    I just had a look at the apple site to see how much the macs are, they're still too expensive, and what's with the black macbook costing £130 more when the only differance is the hard drive which is 20GB bigger and it's black?

    Also the ads, are they on crack? I can do all the stuff they say they can do on a mac and I don't have any of the problems they say that pcs have. Plus they're obnoxious, if anything they've put me off macs more than the prices have.
  11. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    Not true, according to a magazine Vista was rated better than OS X in all but one catagory, and that was security. The scores were:


    "a magazine"? Maybe you could cite a reputable magazine (lest you turn one of the ads into reality), as opposed to an anonymous source.

    That said, I didn't start this thread to debate Windows vs. OS X or Macs vs. PCs.

    and what's with the black macbook costing £130 more when the only differance is the hard drive which is 20GB bigger and it's black?


    Black is popular, and apparently is selling well. MacBooks are not very expensive when compared to comparable PC laptops. If you're talking about cheap laptops, Apple's not your deal (though Dell's always there, if you're willing to take a chance). But if you want reliability and performance in a reasonably priced machine, Apple's got it.

    There isn't a laptop in existence that I'd take over a fully outfitted MacBook Pro, and that'll only be more true when they're outfitted with Merom processors and more universal software is written.
  12. moosemousse CR - FF:UK South

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2004
    star 6
    The magazine is PC Pro, issue 141.

    That doesn't answer the question as to why it's £130 more and not something reasonable for such a small upgrade.
  13. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    That doesn't answer the question as to why it's £130 more and not something reasonable for such a small upgrade.


    It's supply and demand. People want black and are willing to pay for it. People are apparently fine with paying about $150 for black paint. Nobody's forcing them to buy the black instead of a $1299 white.

    I wouldn't do it, but that's just me. Maybe DA can explain why he did it.
  14. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
    That's 130 quid worth of cool you can't buy at Tesco, friend ;)
  15. moosemousse CR - FF:UK South

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2004
    star 6
    £130 just to be "cool"? Is that all you're paying for? o_O
  16. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Why do people pay extra for new cases and LED lights and stuff for their PCs? Same reason. Because it's "cool."
  17. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
    If you can't afford a little extra money then I pity you and you and your badly coordinated clothing.
  18. Silmarillion Manager Emerita/Ex RSA

    Member Since:
    Jul 20, 1999
    star 6
    My trusty iBook has just about bitten the dust. That is one thing that I don't like about the Macs. If I had a PC I could just start replacing things and find out which bit was broken. But I don't have the money to do that with a Mac! I just need it to hold on long enough till I get back to Oz, and then I'll buy a new iMac.
  19. moosemousse CR - FF:UK South

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2004
    star 6
    I think people who do that are stupid idiots. [face_plain]


    I do have a few serious questions about macs, I am tempted by the shiny of the new stuff. The problem is the cost involved. I'm looking at a MacMini as they seem to be cheapest. What RAM do they use and can it be upgraded? How many RAM slots are there? Will I be able to use any keyboard and mouse with it? Will any screen work with it? Will it work with a standard ethernet network? Would it be better to get one soon or wait untill the new version of OS X is out and save me the cost of buy it?
  20. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    You sound like a PC person. Basically no, no, no except for the ethernet question.
  21. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    ... just pointing out that it's not just a Mac thing that people spend extra for looks. ;)

    macMini has up to 2GB of RAM available [I have 2GB on my macbook pro and can open every program without it freezing up, including stuff like photoshop and final cut express]. It also have DVI and VGA hookups, so you should be fine for monitors. Just about any USB mouse/keyboard should work fine. Standard ethernet hookup.

    Not sure when the next full version of OSX is coming out, so I can't answer that one.

    edit: hmmm...
  22. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
  23. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    I'm *almost* thinking about switching, I'm sick of dealing with the virus protection/ad-aware/lots of cords.

    Yeah I know how to deal with them but now that I don't really play games anymore and pretty much just do internet/word-processing its looking like an option.

    That recent Mac commercial where the dude comes out of the box and he's all set up and the PC dude has to get drivers and stuff is right on, Im kinda sick of it.
  24. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Yeah I've never had to install drivers for this, any external hard drive / digital camera / video camera / even a tascam has worked without problem. On our PC I have to reinstall USB drivers every time we hook up something with USB that hasn't been hooked up to it before.
  25. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    how does a video card work?

    PC, you get a bad ass game, get a new video card, stick it in...you cant do that witha Mac right?