JCC Apple/Mac discussion

Discussion in 'Community' started by KnightWriter, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    No, but the capabilities are top of the line as far as video graphics and such.

    Also, this is really amazing.

    For macMini:

    Intel GMA950 graphics processor with 64MB of DDR2 SDRAM shared with main memory

  2. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    I just like being to able to slap around parts in my PC, AFAIK you cant do that with a Mac.

    Also, one mouse button.
  3. moosemousse CR - FF:UK South

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2004
    star 6
    That's just sucky. I can get 2GB of the same RAM for £180 whereas apple charge £210 for the MacMini to have 2GB RAM. £90 for a 120GB HDD? I can get a 250GB one for £56. It just doesn't seem worth it.

    What's the point of buying a computer if you can't upgrade it? It just makes you buy another realy expensive machine when the old one becomes too old.
  4. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    You can use a two button mouse and have it set to right click. I know GeneralKenobi does that. I just apple-click on stuff to "right click." Also, the mighty mouse has a scroll button that you can click - you can also set that to act as a right click button [I have mine set to bring up the dashboard].
  5. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
    Cards and whatever else have never really been an issue with any of my Macs.
    But that's the joy of the Mac, you buy it and it works and you don't worry about it and you buy a new one in a few years.

    And you can use other non-Apple peripherals via standard USB, so you can probably use a mouse with a million buttons if you can find one ;)
  6. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    I don't know what a £ is but you dont need that much space for porn.
  7. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    preaching to the crowd here, I'm sick of ad-ware/viruses/the threats of all that. Especially with a family who arent so computer savy.

    I'm right, right. Mac = no virus/ad-ware?
  8. moosemousse CR - FF:UK South

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2004
    star 6
    The £ symbol is the UK Pounds symbol.
  9. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    [face_laugh]

    I have an extenernal hard drive that I keep everything on so I have plenty of space on my main one. Then again, I have 120GB of music alone, plus movies/tv shows... so I need it.

    Brett is right though - you don't really need to worry about upgrading anything, because what you get is pretty much top of the line. Also keep in mind that a 2GHz processor and 2GB of RAM on a mac is the equivelant of much more than on the PC just because of the way it runs.

    I'm right, right. Mac = no virus/ad-ware?

    correct.
  10. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    Thank god, I thought the JC come up with a symbol for my penis.
  11. moosemousse CR - FF:UK South

    Chapter Rep
    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2004
    star 6
    I've had none of that with my PC, none of it at all, and I've been using WinXP for at least four years and had Win98 for a few years before that.
  12. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
    I believe they do have virus' but I've certainly never experienced one.
    I do have Norton Antivirus though and I've heard that the increasing popularity is leading to more virus' for Mac but y'know....I figure I'll cope.
  13. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    I thought Macs just arent capable of getting viruses?

    Im a PC expert, but a Mac newb.
  14. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Yeah, theoretically you can get a virus on a mac, but the chances are pretty much next to none right now and will stay that way for a while at least. 99.9999% of viruses [viri?] are made for windows.
  15. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    So the no viruses for macs is because it isnt as popular?

  16. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
    I'm pretty sure that none of the regular Windows virus' can infect the MacOS.
    But there are virus' designed specifically for Mac, albeit very very few
  17. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    k, I wasn't sure. I thought the damn thing was immune, but if its made for a Mac, meh.

    What about C/C++?
  18. DarthAttorney Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2000
    star 6
    Both very respectable grades.
  19. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    Pretty much, yeah. No one bothers doing it because even though mac is getting more popular, the vast majority of people use windows, especially those who are most likely to be attacked by a virus and/or malware. Everyone else in the house uses our PC now and I have to run all kinds of scans on it for spyware/malware every couple days to clean it up so it's even usable, and afaik no one is going to sites that should be a huge problem for that.

    Chances of you getting infected on a mac right now are pretty much next to none as long as you're smart and don't go to some weird ass sites.
  20. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
  21. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
    i think http://developer.apple.com/ has information about C++ related stuff.
  22. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    can you go ahead and sum that up for me?


    thanks.
  23. jedi_master_ousley Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 14, 2002
    star 8
  24. FlareStorm Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 13, 2000
    star 6
    can you link me again? I lost it
  25. MarcusP2 Games and Community Reaper

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 2004
    star 6
    I'm sure you could run C++ code on a Mac if you got a Mac compiler. Of course, not having a Mac I can't recommend one.