JCC Apple/Mac discussion

Discussion in 'Community' started by KnightWriter, Jun 21, 2006.

  1. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    the powerbook/macbook pro keyboard is the best keyboard in existence. i only wish i was better able to type and take advantage of one.
  2. darth_boy Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 1, 2001
    star 7
    someone PLEASE help me out

    Is it possible i can hook my 13' macbook upto this monitor if i get the correct cables?

    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?rb=22411281201&action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X3NwZWNpZmljYXRpb25z&product_uid=101460

    i need to know ASAP because i want to buy it off ebay. thanks in advance

    Any other info on connecting a monitor/mouse/keyboard to the macbook would be useful too...
  3. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    already responded via pm, but any usb-capable mouse and keyboard should be fine for you to use. don't know much about monitors, however.
  4. Padawan716 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2001
    star 6
    Yes, practically any monitor or TV will work with a mac if you've got the cables/converters to work. Personally, I wouldn't go with that monitor, but if you need the TV Tuner, then go for it.

    USB Mice and Keyboards work fine with macs. I've had no problems with a bluetooth mouse either. Just plug it in and the mac will find it. Say goodbye to single click madness.
  5. darth_boy Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 1, 2001
    star 7
    Why wouldnt you go for that monitor?
    I havent got a big budget, and i want to use it for both the mac and my xbox 360/other consoles.

    Im thinking about getting the apple mighty mouse & keyboard. However im not sure if i should get the USB ones or the bluetooth ones. Im not sure, but doesnt bluetooth kill the battery on a macbook faster? so would it be better to get the USB ones?
  6. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    bluetooth does drain any laptop battery faster than normal, unless of course you always have bluetooth switched on.
  7. darth_boy Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 1, 2001
    star 7
    yeah i always have it off. But i guess its not that big a deal seeing that this will be used at home, where i can charge at any time...

    Ive had most of my questions answered...im just wondering if i get a monitor (without TV card) would i be able to use my XBox 360 on it?)
  8. DK_Force85 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 13, 2006
    star 4
    Okay, I don't know what happened, but for some reason the other day the one of our computers (Mac) started talking. It says everything you do through the speakers. Like if you right-click, it'll say "Menu", then when you left-click it says "Closing Menu". It's obvious that this is just some kind of software to aid the visually impaired, but I've tried everything I can think of and can't figure out how to turn it off! It's really getting on my nerves. Whenever I try and listen to a song or something, it says "iTunes" when I click on the window or switch between that and Safari (or any other application).

    Anyone know how to fix the problem?
  9. Coruscant Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 15, 2004
    star 6
  10. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    it's not really a problem, but rather just a program you likely have running that you weren't aware of. you probably have universal access turned on, so go to "universal access" in your preferences, and switch off the "enable" box.
  11. Jedi_Reject_Jesse Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 26, 2004
    star 7
    Make it sing "Daisy, Daisy" first.
  12. DK_Force85 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 13, 2006
    star 4
    Fixed it! Thanks Knight.
  13. SoloKnight Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 13, 2003
    star 4
    I've got a question for all you Mac users. My friend's birthday is coming up and I know she wants an external dvd burner for her computer. As a PC person, I have absolutely no idea what model would be compatible with her computer. All I know is that she has an ibook and she got it new last year. Any help would be amazingly appreciated!
  14. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    she must have a 12 inch model (which is what i have), because the 14 inchers came with DVD burners starting in late 2004 or early 2005.

    i'm pretty clueless about what sort of external dvd burners are out there, and good, but i know that so long as it's usb or firewire, it should be fine for her ibook. check out the good folks at macrumors.com and ask around. they know their stuff :).

    edit: also: all imacs, macbook pros and macbooks now have the core 2 duo processors. they'll make a great gift for anyone in need of a computer this season :).
  15. ThrawnRocks Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 10, 2004
    star 6
    Well I use this to burn DVDs:
    http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/6364002/wa/PSLID?mco=3BDBFF35&nplm=TF674LL%2FA&wosid=R54AD3Wg8r7i37t8l4j16ajrlvg

    You can look here for more DVD burners:
    http://store.apple.com/1-800-MY-APPLE/WebObjects/AppleStore.woa/6364002/wa/PSLID?mco=1A3883B1&nclm=1A3883B1&wosid=R54AD3Wg8r7i37t8l4j16ajrlvg
  16. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    http://tinyurl.com/ is your friend.
  17. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    My ibook's power cord port is dying, and my ibook with it. It's hard to get it to recharge or run from the cord, so i'm going to have to get a new laptop soonish. I'm not willing to sink any money into repairs for my ibook, as it was 1K to get in the first place, and repairs could be a couple hundred for a laptop that, to put it simply, is underpowered by today's standards.

    I lean toward getting a refurb black macbook, but i'm hesitant about it. i'm also uncertain about the timing, as 10.5 is due out sometime in the next few months, and an upgrade for all mac laptops should be coming as well. finally, the santa rosa chipset is due out in may, and that's supposed to bring some improvements to processor performance.
  18. KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2001
    star 8
    Well, someone around here has a new MacBook Pro. It isn't me, unless you consider four months to still be new, but I'll let that person post the good news here if they'd like.
  19. cenotaph Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Apr 28, 2007
    star 1
    All you need to author and build C/C++ applications on any OS derived from a Linux base is vim, GCC/G++ and Make (well, Make is optional) -- all of which are apparently already installed on both of my Macs. Just open a terminal window and enter the following commands:

    g++ --version
    make --version

    If you're proficient at writing makefiles and you have experience with the GNU C/C++ compiler/linker tools, just open a terminal window and crank up a vim session or two. Alternatively, you can download Apple's Xcode IDE if the command line isn't your thing.

  20. Obi-Zahn Kenobi Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 1999
    star 7
    So my uncle was telling me that he just bought two Mac Pros.

    He's getting both with two 2 Intel Xeon Quad-core processors at 3.0 GHz, 16GB RAM, and probably good graphics cards. He already has a 30" Apple Cinema display.

    The one he got for my aunt has 3TB of HDD space, and the one he got himself only has 750GB.



    Why does he need that sort of power? And he could have gotten all that much cheaper if he'd built it himself (which he has the expertise to do).
  21. Darth Guy Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 16, 2002
    star 10
    3 terabytes is a lot of porn...

    ...er, I mean, music and movies and games. [face_whistling]
  22. Obi-Zahn Kenobi Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 1999
    star 7
    Well, that explains the HDD space, but not the two Quad-core processors and 16GB of RAM.
  23. Darth Guy Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 16, 2002
    star 10
    Lots of streaming porn?
  24. Obi-Zahn Kenobi Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 1999
    star 7
    They have satellite broadband limited by T1, so it's 1.5 Mbps. Not enough information.

    Maybe 20 different ones on the cinema display at the same time?
  25. Darth Guy Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 16, 2002
    star 10
    Yeah, that sounds like a good use of RAM and processing power. But it would be cramped even on a 30-inch screen!