Apple releases Shake

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by ewingsquadron, Jul 23, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: AdamBertocci
  1. ewingsquadron Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 5, 2001
    star 5
    What are people's take on this? How much did it cost before Apple got their hands on this? Right now, they're gonna be selling it for about $5,000.

    Personally, I love Apple, and I can't wait to see what they've done with this. :D

    EDIT: Couldn't do without a link! http://www.apple.com/shake/
  2. Bastion Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2001
    star 2
    From macrumors.com-

    Shake 2.5 will be available for Mac OS X for a suggested retail price of $4,950 (US) with annual maintenance of $1,199 (US), and for Linux, IRIX and Windows for a suggested retail price of $9,900 (US) with annual maintenance of $1,485 (US). Existing Shake customers will be given the option to double the number of their existing licenses at no additional cost by migrating to Mac OS X.

    Apple appears to be aggressively trying to attract new users to the Mac platform with this sort of aggressive pricing. Note that Shake cost $9,900 prior to the Apple buyout, and the $4,950 OS X pricing is a discount of the OS X version... and not a markup on the Windows/Linux versions.
  3. DaftMaul Former TFN Fan Films Staff

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Feb 18, 2001
    star 5
    Apple Shake?
    I don't like the sound of that! Personally I always prefer the Banana or Chocolate Shake. [face_plain]

    I'm sure it's going to rock, but at $5000 plus $1495 per annum there after it's all a bit irrelevant to me. I'll stick with After Effects for the foreseeable future unless some rich Uncle suddenly buys me a copy for Christmas or something...

    I do think from reading Bastions post it is very good marketing though. How much more incentive do 'industry people' need to switch to Macs?, and while they're there, chuck in that old Avid suite and install FCP as well. I spoke to someone a few weeks ago that worked for a company that had about fifty Avid workstations, and the computers that ran the Avid set up where.......PowerPC's. It just made me chuckle that all of that kit was being run by a machine I used to own about eight years ago... :)
  4. Carl_el_cee Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 9, 2002
    star 3
    Shake... hmm. Judging by the interface it seems like its a Discreet product, huh? I'm sure there was a PC version too as I've seen guys that used it with MAX, like in Indigen. Its not on the Discreet site though. Anyone know where it can be located?

    Carl
  5. Bastion Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2001
    star 2
    Shake was a product of Nothing Real. Apple bought out Nothing Real earlier this year. And there is Shake for PC, see my above post.
  6. Avene Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 28, 2000
    star 4
    It's good they're not discontinuing the Linux and Windows versions. Although considering how much slower the current Macs are compared to dual Athlon MP machines, and more specifically those running Linux, I can't imagine too many current users switching to slower machines just to save some money.
  7. Bastion Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2001
    star 2
    The date of release coincides with the release of OS 10.2 and hopefully the new PowerMacs will be released that week (all the rumours and releases point to that, here's hoping!). So it would be a pretty sweet deal to switch, unless of course they release crap PowerMacs (here's hoping not!).
  8. Shawn PTH Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 4
    Dont you dare start arguements in here Avene.
  9. Ulric Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 15, 2002
    star 1
    they have indeed somewhat discontinued the windows version, only previous owners of windows licences can buy it. http://www.apple.com/shake
  10. NXTB Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 17, 2002
    star 2
    Carl,

    Bastion is correct, Nothing Real was the original creator of Shake. Discreet's equivalent product would be Combustion, which you can find on their website. I had a chance to use it once and I was very impressed, especially with the keyer and particle effects. Of course it's way out of my price range and I, like Daft, will be sticking with After Effects.

    NXTB
  11. Avene Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 28, 2000
    star 4
    Just stating the facts. Have a read of this article if you don't believe me. The truth is Apple machines will continue to become slower and slower if they continue with the current Motorola CPUs.
  12. foxbatkllr Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2001
    star 6
    STOP THE PRESSES! Another PC user who has never used a Mac in his life claims PC's are faster!
  13. Jedi2016 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 2000
    star 4
    They call it the "industry standard" because it was used on Ice Age? What else has it been used in? To the best of my knowledge, After Effects is the "real" industry standard, used in just about everything you see in a theatre these days (including Star Wars). I'll stick with AE.
  14. Lord_Rive TFN Fan Films Staff

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 4
    Shake has been used in a ton of features, including Lord of the Rings, Pearl Harbor, Babe: Pig in the City, Fight Club...

    AE is used a lot, but I definitely wouldn't call it a standard -- while AE was used on Star Wars (mostly for the shots done by Rebel Mac), ILM relies more on Comp Time these days...
  15. Lots Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2001
    star 4
    *begins setting up a bomb shelter for all the Mac vs PC fallout victims...*
  16. Avene Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 28, 2000
    star 4
    Shake's probably about the best compositer out there from what I've heard. Have a look at the Final Fantasy DVD to see it being used. It's node based interface makes it a lot easier to work with really complex composites. After Effects' interface could never compete on that scale.
  17. Ulric Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 15, 2002
    star 1
    Shake ends up being used in just about every other film - because it excels at dealing large images and scripting at the command line. However while it was probably used on Final Fantasy, the compositor you see on-screen on the DVD is Avid Media Illusion. There are many similar-looking high-end compositors out there.
  18. Shawn PTH Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 4
    Heh Shake is nice but I personaly wasnt astounded with it when I first saw it at NAB2002. But who knows they wouldnt let me play with it and try to crash their system =P Another great compositing/image manipulation software package is the 5D one. They do some friggin amazing stuff. I sat at NAB and watched their 2 hour demo completley flaberghasted by the things they could do in a couple clicks, much less the stuff they could do if they knew what they were doing!
  19. Avene Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 28, 2000
    star 4
    Oh, so that's Avid? Digital Fusion is another great program that uses nodes.
  20. AlanSmitheeIII Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 25, 2001
    star 4
    "STOP THE PRESSES! Another PC user who has never used a Mac in his life claims PC's are faster!"

    **YAWN**

    Man, give it up...you are SO hypersensitive about what other people say about Macs....people DO have opinions...let it go.
  21. BluEScrEEnJedi Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 2002
Moderators: AdamBertocci
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.