Ask Artie!

Discussion in 'Games: CCG, TCG, and Boardgames' started by Artie-Deco, Jul 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bacabachaui Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jan 24, 2002
    star 4
    Bubba Genius wrote the SW:TCG description.

    Actually, I wrote the TCG one. I originally used a sentence he wrote and gave him credit for helping but then I ended up taking that sentence out.

    Do you guys think we should lock a thread at the top that is kinda like a "Everything you need to know" that links to the Descriptions thread as well as threads like this one?

    It could go like this:


    Title: TF.N Card Games Forum-Eveything You Need to Know

    Game Descriptions and guidelines
    Ask Artie
    (Whatever else)


    Then we lock it at the top so it stay there.
  2. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    It sounds good. You should also link to my FAQ thread, and perhaps make a similar thread for the TCG.
  3. Bacabachaui Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jan 24, 2002
    star 4
    Sounds good. Anyone want to work something up and I'll make it sticky? If not, I'll get to it eventually.
  4. Artie-Deco Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2001
    star 3
    I received this question in a PM last week from "katha":

    "I've just taken an interest in making dream cards and I was wondering how best to do the game text. What suggestions do you have for good game text?"


    My first suggestion is to study as many of the existing cards as you can. You want the wording of your card to "fit" in with the existing cards, and the best way to do that is to read and be familiar with them.

    Similarly, make sure you have studied the rules, and any current ruling documents. You don't want to create a dream card with text that is going to contradict or overly-complicate any of the rules.

    My second suggestion is, when you have decided what dream card you want to make, look for a card currently in the game that is similar to the one you want to make. A Jedi Starfighter dream card for SW:CCG should have gametext not too dissimilar from an A-Wing or an X-Wing, for example.

    Third, don't go overboard. Assuming you'd like to actually play with these dream cards, don't make them too powerful. (Or too weak, but that's not usually a problem!) Don't create "God-like" characters or ships, like a Death Star space unit in SW:TCG with a power of 100 and defense of 1,000!

    Every card needs to have its strengths and weaknesses, and the best cards IMO are the ones that strike a balance. The stronger the card, the greater its weaknesses. A Talz in SW:CCG has two great strengths: its game text helps keep you from losing characters, and its deploy cost is only 1. But the Talz has weaknesses, too: low power, low ability, and it is restricted to only three copies on the table. Darth Vader Dark Lord Of The Sith has even greater strengths: high power, high ability, and game text which can make opponent's character immediately lost. But even he has weaknesses: high deploy cost, low destiny number, and being unique.

    In terms of real cards, another strength/weakness is the card's rarity. A common card has an advantage over an uncommon or rare card. But this is not a factor you will be able to include in your dream cards, so keep that in mind. On face value, Emperor Palpatine's (SW:CCG) weaknesses may not appear to be in balance with his strengths; the missing factor is that he is an ultra-rare card. But you can not make an "ultra-rare" card, so it would not be fair to create a dream card with Emperor Palpatine's statistics.

  5. MoronDude Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2000
    star 6
    I have a question that came up tonight.


    What happens if your character has 1 power and attacks someone with Sheilds 1?
  6. MoronDude Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2000
    star 6
    UPing this to get my question answered.
  7. Artie-Deco Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2001
    star 3
    You would have power 0. Roll 0 dice, if any of those dice came up 4, 5, or 6, you would score a hit on your opponent. :)

    Remember, a unit does not have to attack. You can always just tap the unit and do nothing.

  8. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    Ok, A friend told me this, I doubt it is true.

    Can you pick your starting 8 cards (your hand) for star wars ccg?
  9. Artie-Deco Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2001
    star 3
    Hmmm... let me think about that one for a minute .... ummmm....

    NO!!!!!

    :)
  10. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    No, you can't pick your starting 8 cards. If you could, there would be something in the rules about it.
  11. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    Exactly what I though.

    Ok another question I couldn't get a straight answer from the rules.

    Cumalative thingy....

    Let' say you have 3 lightsabers on one location +lightsaber profficiency....now do all of those contribute to force drain? adding 4 to force drain?
  12. Artie-Deco Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2001
    star 3
    Cumalative thingy....

    Let' say you have 3 lightsabers on one location +lightsaber profficiency....now do all of those contribute to force drain? adding 4 to force drain?

    Non-unique lightsabers? They are not cumulative, so it doesn't matter if you have 1 or 100 of them at a site, you only get +1 to your force drain for them.

    Now, if the lightsabers are unique, they would each contribute +1 to the drain, but not because they are cumulative....

  13. Restrainingbolt Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2002
    star 4
    Humm interesting. Never knew that non-unique lightsabers wouldn't add to force drains separately. Haven't played with them for the most part. Just seemed too expensive to play them on characters with low ability.

    R'Bolt
  14. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    Ok, I have a pressing problem, I want to use creatures but i don't get it and don't know how to use them, Rancor looks cool but i am confused on what to do with him.

    Thanks,I am lacking the ccg knowledge, why you ask? Because no one ever taught me how to play, I had to learn on my own and don't have the mutual playing like people at the beginning did. Thanks!
  15. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    >>Never knew that non-unique lightsabers wouldn't add to force drains separately. Haven't played with them for the most part. Just seemed too expensive to play them on characters with low ability.<<

    Nothing like dropping down Wedge with a lightsaber to take out those pesky dark jedi when playing lightsaber combat decks >::)

    I know I'm not Artie, but I'll try to field this one based on the glossary:

    >>I want to use creatures but i don't get it and don't know how to use them, Rancor looks cool but i am confused on what to do with him.<<

    Creatures are deployed during your deploy phase to a location that fits the description of one of it's habitats (assuming it specifies one) listed in it's gametext. Force icons and presence ae not required for them to deploy there.

    They have a landspeed of 1 and move during their owner's move phase for free.

    Creatures do not participate in battle (and thus may not be targeted during battle by a weapon, etc). Instead, they participate in attacks.

    Attacks do not create battle damag, attrition or forfeiting and thus no Force is lost by either player.

    Creatures attack only when they are present with another creature vehicle or a non-droid character (even if missing or captured). Characters aboard any non-creature may not be attacked.

    There are three kinds of attacks:
    -Creatures attacking other creatures
    -Creatures attacking non-droid characters and creature vehicles
    -Creatures being attacked

    Creatures attacking other creatures:

    If at any time two creatures are present together, they immediately attack each other (unless they are the same kind of selective creature-selective creatures are designated by that mynock icon). This is an autonatic action. Compare their ferocity numbers. The creature with the lowest ferocity is "eaten" (lost). If there is a tie, both creatures are lost.

    Creatures attacking non-droid characters and creature vehicles:

    During every battle phase (of both players), each creature present with one or more non-droid characters and/or creature vehicles must initiate one attack. If there ae targets for the creature to attack on both sides of the Force, the creature's owner decides which side will be attacked. If there is more than one potential target- choose randomly.
    Compare the creature's ferocity to the target's power (plus one destiny if the target has 4 or more ability). If ferocity > power, the target is defeated.
    Normally, this means the target is "eaten" (lost), although certain cards specify other results.

    Creatures being attacked

    During eachj of your battle phases, your characters, vehicles and starships present with one or more creatures may initiate one attack against one of thos creatures (your choice). All of your cards that could paticipate in a battle at that location participate in the attack. (your characters, vehicles and starships may initate one battle per location and/or one attack per location).

    Use 1 Force to initiate the attack. You may fire applicable weapons at that creature (weapons that target characters can also target creatures). ach creature has it's own defense value, such as "slither" or "vicious howl". If the creature is hit, it is lost and the attack is over.

    If the creature is not hit by a weapon, calculate your total power in the same manner as for a battle, including one destiny draw i you have 4 or more ability participating in the attack. If total power > ferocity+ defense value, the creature is lost.



    So, what does that all mean? Let's run through an example or three...

    Let's say we have deployed to a tatooine exterior site a Krayt Dragon (Ferocity=6+ two destiny, Mournful Howl [defense value]= 5).

    For the first kind of attack (creature vs creature), let's say the opponent deploys or moves a Scurrier (Ferocity=2, Scurry [defense value]=2) to that same site.

    We automatically compare their ferocities, and the Scurrier loses, and so it is eaten/lost. End of attack.

    For the second kind of attack (creature vs character/creature vehicle), let's sa
  16. Jedi_Benji Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 2, 2002
    star 4
    Hey, maybe you could set one up in the TCG forum, so the questions are a little less random? Just a suggestion.
  17. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    Though, let's say i don't initiate a battle, does my creature still attack?
  18. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    Yes, your creatures still attack.

    Attacks happen during your battle phase, not during a battle.

    In other words, you don't have to initiate a battle to initiate an attack.
  19. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    Why would the creature pull destiny to add it's power?
  20. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    Some creatures are very powerful- the Krayt Dragon specifies that it's ferocity is 6+ two destiny.

    [image=http://www.decipher.com/starwars/cardlists/specialedition/dark/images/kraytdragon.gif]

    Same way a Rancor is ferocity=8+ one destiny.

    Most creatures have a fixed ferocity value though.
  21. Jedi_Benji Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 2, 2002
    star 4
    hey i got a question bout the ccg, when people post their decks whats with the Starting part? is it like a starting hand or somethin?
  22. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    No, they're the starting cards, and the stuff they deploy.
  23. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    Yes, i use a starting interrupt called prepared defenses, it's pretty cool, it allows me to work my deck because i get three starting effects!

    Also, in what conditions can you start with two locations? I have seen this before.
  24. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    >> Also, in what conditions can you start with two locations? I have seen this before.<<

    If you start with Hoth: Main Power Generators, you have to deploy the Hoth: North Ridge (4th Marker) to estbalish the boundry of the shield.

    The two starting effects Careful Planning and Combat Readiness has the following gametext: "STARTING: If you have not deployed an Objective, deploy from Reserve Deck one battleground site (or two <> sites) related to your starting location. Place Interrupt in Reserve Deck. "

    Other than that, the only other circumstance I can think of is when you have an Objective that allows you to do so.
  25. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    Alright, another thing.


    I have seen decks where a player has like Cloud City: Casino x5.....can he deploy 5 of the same location at the same time? so you can have 5 identical locations?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.