"Assisted Suicide?"

Discussion in 'Archive: The Senate Floor' started by big_boss_nass, Nov 9, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. big_boss_nass Tucson FF Founding Member

star 4
    As many of you know I don't post here much, but I just got finished with a Government law project that had to deal with assisted suicide. I was a lawyer and I had to argue John Ashcroft's side that it is against the law and will not be tolerated in the United States. The opposing lawyers had to argue (for the state of Oregon) why it should be ok. I was curious to some of your arguments on why it would be fine for someone with a fatal illness to sign papers saying it was fine to kill them. Also why do some of you agree with the government and say that it wrong no matter what?

Here is a link to an article about the trial

2. Java_Jedi Jedi Master

star 4
    You got me thinking back to the whole Kavokian [spl] thing. IMO...

Assisted Suicide...

I can see how many ppl would have different opinions on this topic. I can understand the decision to self-terminate life to some degree. I think it should legally be the choice of the patient. Counceling should be requiered, but the choice should fall to the person with the illness.

I feel the same about DNR's and Living Wills. If a person will have no real quality of life, then why not? I don't see the point of forcing someone to suffer for years on end with pain that will not ease, because of someone elses morality or feelings.

If the patient is of sound mind and understands that this will void life insurance, ect, then I feel it is the Dr. responcibility to be there. They are sworn to "do no harm", but imo doing nothing at all and allowing the suffering to continue is doing just that "harm".