ATTE Texture Mapping WIP

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by PixelMagic, Oct 16, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PixelMagic Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2001
    star 5
    Hey guys. I downloaded the ATTE model from SciFi3D. I have NO references other than the Episode II. Here is what I have done so far. I don't like the main hull texture though. I will have to re-do it Does anyone else have references for this? Also, how do you guys think it's coming so far?

    ATTE Texture WIP
  2. sqerl Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2002
    star 1
    I'd be glad to give some tips, but Yahoo says the current page cannot be viewed... :(
  3. Crunchy Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 4
    looks good so far, except for the shoulder above the first leg looks a bit off... :)


    Sqerl, drag link and drop it in the address bar ;)
  4. LordPhobos Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Looking pretty good Pixel. I can send you the reference images I used for it if you want. Is the email address in your profile a good place to send them? If not, send me a private message with your email address and I'll send them to you.

    On a side note, I have gotten the textured model back from Brian, so after some small editing to the seat on the top I will be posting the final model on SF3D for everyone to use. And that will include all of the current model formats. :) But that doesn't mean that you have to stop texturing this one if you want to continue. Everyone is free to do whatever they want to to it (except say they made it :) ).

    LordPhobos
  5. George Mezori SCIFI 3D Scifi 3D Forum

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 1999
    star 4
    I have collected the maps from Brian now. They're like many many MB's of PSD's. People can do what they want but to have it hosted on SF3D you need to drop me a mail with samples of your work, URL, etc. so I can verify that you can do a good job and I'll hook you up with the maps. I have another guy who is helping build the last map.. a scratch map. I think these maps can probably be squashed down to TGA or (no compression)JPG's or something. The PSD's are huge.
  6. PixelMagic Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2001
    star 5
    Well, If someone has already textured this bad boy, there's no reason for me to continue. Is the new version animateable? Probably not, huh?
  7. George Mezori SCIFI 3D Scifi 3D Forum

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 1999
    star 4
    The model originated in MAYA, it is rigged only there. Everything else is just conversions. I only have textures... they are not applied to any version. I'm missing one last scratch map. I think it say this on the site but here we go one more time... if anybody is interested in doing a MAX, LW, etc. versions let me know... give me a url or something so I can see your work so I know we're not wasting our time... and we'll work something out to get 20MB or more of files to you.
  8. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    Zoo, I might be able to convert the model to Max and set up the textures, e-mail ne at darthviper107@yahoo.com
  9. George Mezori SCIFI 3D Scifi 3D Forum

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 1999
    star 4
    Please read my previous message boss. Email me with a url or samples of your work so I can get some idea of what your skill-level is.
  10. LordPhobos Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2003
    There is a model that I have that has all of the textures applied to it. You might not have noticed it Zoo since you don't have Maya. I was able to make a few renders off of it so everyone can see Brian's awesome work.

    Pic 1
    Pic 2
    Pic 3
    Pic 4

    You'll probably have to copy and paste it because it's geocities, but they should still work.

    I was planning on working myself on converting the model to at least something like OBJ which is easily translated into other formats. Shouldn't take too long..... I hope. :D

    Cheers,
    Phobos
  11. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    Phobos, convert the model to .obj and then you can send it to me and I can convert it to Max and .3ds for SciFi 3D.
  12. PixelMagic Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2001
    star 5
    Lorb Phobos, with your permission, I can import an .obj file into Max, and then if the texture coordinates are there, I can add on to your maps for a 3ds Max version.
  13. LordPhobos Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2003
    I'm trying to work out some issues that seem to be plaguing this model. Getting the textures to export with the model is not proving to be as easy a situation as I had hoped, but I am working feverishly on solving the problem. When I am able to at least have one copy of the model in either OBJ or DXF I will easily be able to convert it from there. Getting it there is something else though. :)

    I'll keep you all posted.
  14. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    How long did it take to render?
  15. George Mezori SCIFI 3D Scifi 3D Forum

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 1999
    star 4
    That is the 20+ MB of maps Brian just uploaded?? Doesn't look like much color to it. I was expecting something else I guess.

    Phobos... you guys gotta stop worrying about getting maps to export. It's not a good use of time. That's why I only uploaded the diff. versions of the mesh itself.. and put out a call for a conversion to MAX if somebody wants. The model has to be imported into MAX, possibly cleaned-up a bit, and maps reapplied. This is just the way it works.. the way it has always worked. You can't really get around it. Knowing what I know about applications... I don't really see why anybody would expect maps to export. Sometimes even simple planar maps just won't go.
  16. LordPhobos Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Uhm, actually it is possible. I just did it. And I'm not worrying myself, thank you. I was merely trying to finish the model that I started many months ago.

    I am 99% completed with this model conversion. No, the bump maps and all of the fancy shaders that Brian made did not translate over, but I didn't expect them to.

    So Zoo, if you want the copy I have now without the fancy shaders applied to it and in LWO format (the only format that seemed to work), let me know. If not, I can send you the finished Maya file to post on the website. If you'd rather not have the LWO format and would rather let others make special Max/LW shaders, that's fine with me as well. It's your site, so just let me know what you want or how you want to run this one and I'll go with it.

    Cheers.
  17. George Mezori SCIFI 3D Scifi 3D Forum

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 1999
    star 4
    Well.. looking back at your original post Phobas.. I can see why I wasn't sure what you were doing. I didn't know you were doing a LW version. You said you got Brian's "textured" version from him. You didn't tell me that. All I know is I got the maps , I made them available to you, he was gonna do a "scratch" map... he really hates texturing.. so I found another person Geoff(FOO) to do it and he was real happy... I'm waiting for FOO to send it.. that's it.

    This is why people have to communicate directly thru me. There's alot of bits of information that only I know... and when people start doing stuff on their own then there's things going on that I don't know. So I'm not sure exactly what Brian sent you. I'm not sure what you have or what you are doing 100%.

    After looking at references... I guess the maps do look ok. It's isn't really a very colorful model. I guess I was expecting a more tan look.. but there's alot of ambient light that color on Geonosis. WE both went thru alot of trouble to get the maps so I just want to make sure this model is as good a it can be and it's using those maps.

    My goal is only to have a good looking model. As long as it looks good. I hate to see Brian spend 6 months on making these textures when Zorbi could probably do it in 3-5 days. So.. whatever looks good is what I want. And of course I don't want to upload any files using PSD files that are 3 MB each. They can be uncompressed JPG or something else.. but the file size needs to be reasonable.

    I don't know anything about SHADERS on the model. I just collected maps that's all I know. What we do is host the original file... those people with that app can enjoy any special features like rigging, etc... and we host any conversions. If the MAYA file is already using PSD files then I'd probably allow it since that many people hopefully won't download it. If people would ONLY download what they need it would help alot and is greatly apprecitated.

    We support ALL formats. Whatever somebody has got we'll put up... within reason. We're not gonna host Bryce versions of everything. Just mid to high-end apps, and maybe a low-end app. If somebody comes along and one-ups your LW version I wouldn't remove yours. In respect for you I'd probably just list it as a separate LW version.

    Lastly... it's not "my" site. I make alot of decisions but they're based on what people tell me, what people want, and what I think is best. My opinion has always been that the site belongs to everybody. I just run it. It's like the library. I'm just the bookeeper. But I have some powers... I can fine people .05 cents a day.
  18. PixelMagic Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2001
    star 5
    Actually, if I can get a .Obj version with a .mtl exported, I can actually import that into 3ds max with all texture coordinates intact. It's really not that hard.
  19. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    When will any version be posted on SciFi 3D?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.