Char, NC Carosel - Quicktime 5 or 6

Discussion in 'South East Regional Discussion' started by JediDad, Jul 18, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JediDad Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 25, 1998
    Carosel,
    Do you, or anyone else in Charlotte, have a full copy of either Quicktime 5 or 6 on disc? I need a full copy that I can install without having to download it from Apple.

    I can't get through the firewall to download a copy onto my work PC. :(
  2. EagleIFilms Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 5
    You can't get a copy of it on disc. :(

    It's set up so you can only download it from their web site.

    Seems like your only choice is to shut down your firewall for a little bit, and download it.

    Sorry.
  3. LadyVader81 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2001
    star 6
    well if you got it on your computer you can get it on disc, I have quicktime 5 on disc unfortunatly I live on the other side of the ocean ;)
  4. JediDad Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 25, 1998
    How large is the QT 5 file?
  5. LadyVader81 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2001
    star 6
    I dont know off the top of my head I got tons of CD's next to me that aren't named lol


    I know its not very big as I got lots of other applications on the disc as well
  6. JediDad Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 25, 1998
    Do you think it's less than 5MB by any chance?
  7. LadyVader81 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2001
    star 6
  8. JediDad Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 25, 1998
    That can't be the whole thing. ?[face_plain]

    That's got to be just the installer. According to the download screen just the minimum install is something like 4.5M.

    "That will complicate things"
    - Qui-Gon Jinn

    "Another solution will present itself"
    - Qui-Gon Jinn
  9. LadyVader81 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 2, 2001
    star 6
    opps sorry lol

    that what happens when I try eating dinner and doing something else at the same time!
  10. RidingMyCarousel Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 20, 2002
    star 6
    I'll go buy some blank CDs today and then I'll burn the entire install onto a disc. Firewalls are so evil, I know. But yeah... I'll get around to it before our next meeting :)
  11. JediDad Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 25, 1998
    Thanks Carosel, but don't worry about it. I was able to find a way to "beat" the firewall last night, and get a copy of QT 6.

  12. EagleIFilms Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 5
    I still don't think it's possible to burn the intire install onto a disc.

    The install file connects to the Apple server, and downloads more stuff, so I see no way to get around that.

    But that's good, JediDad, that you got around the firewall.
  13. RidingMyCarousel Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 20, 2002
    star 6
    I downloaded it and had a program running to read which files were being copied... So I put them on a disc :p

    Oh well...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.