main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Cheap Saber Hilts Please!

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by Rumik, Aug 22, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rumik

Rumik Jedi Youngling star 1

May 22, 2003
    Hey guys,

I've looked around for weeks for someone offering a cheaper alternative to masterreplicas.com or parkssabers.com so I thought I'd try my luck at posting here. I am looking for someone, preferably but not only in the UK to construct me some reasonable quality saber hilts for use as props in fan films, so they need to have holes for prop blades. Bear in mind that I'm a University student in the UK and am simply looking for some inexpensive saber hilts for use in making fan films. I'm currently using those cheap Hasbro toy sabers but they're just not realistic enough for me.

Can anyone help me out?

Thanks.

2. Lightsaber_Style8675

Lightsaber_Style8675 Jedi Youngling star 3

May 1, 2003
    By plumbing pipe, get a hack saw, shape the way u want, wrap a 3/8 dowel in a bunch of duct tape until in wedges into the handle. Not perfect, better looking than toys, very inexpensive.

3. Figrin-Dan_Man

Figrin-Dan_Man Jedi Padawan star 4

Nov 4, 2002
    [image=http://www.hasbro.com/common/images/products/26491_imageMain400.jpg]

Hasbro. $7.95 US.

4. durbnpoisn

durbnpoisn TFN Staff Cast & Crew Database star 5 VIP

May 20, 2002
    And Fig wins the award for totally ignoring the fact that that's exactly what he didn't want.

I built 2 props out of PVC, metal drain pipes, paint roller extensions, and some imagination. The two of the them combined only cost me about $20.

That's really the best route. The amount of work it took to construct them was actually worse than the cost. On top of that, they are totally original creations that no one else can claim as their own.

As a result, I don't think I will be mailing them out to the UK anytime soon. :D