main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Cloning in Adobe After Effects

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by DarthMike3, Oct 10, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DarthMike3

DarthMike3 Jedi Youngling star 1

Oct 7, 2002
    Hey, I see the awesome cloning effects that Ryan has on his website, and I was wondering how to clone and hard/time consuming it is to do. I'm very new to AE so forgive me if this is a dumb question.

Thanks.

2. andalite

andalite Jedi Youngling star 2

Jan 29, 2002
    film yourself in two different locations of the camera view, not ovelapping yourself. Keep the camera stationary. When you import the footage into AE put each clip of yourself in the timeline one on top of the other, then use a mask to erase the area that you are in on layer two. hard to explain, but if you have any questions, just ask.

3. ultimateguy

ultimateguy Jedi Master star 3

Jun 18, 2002
    I'm also curious about this effect. Wouldn't you just be able to change the mode of the layer to screen?

4. andalite

andalite Jedi Youngling star 2

Jan 29, 2002
    no you couldn't because then the actor would be semi-transparent in the darker areas, masking is the best way to go.

5. dark_lord_biped

dark_lord_biped Jedi Youngling star 2

Sep 16, 2002
    you could also shoot a slate shot for the bg stuff then shott the clone subject on a green screen bam same effect

6. ultimateguy

ultimateguy Jedi Master star 3

Jun 18, 2002
    So what kind of mask would it be? What color? I really have no idea.

7. sithgoblin3

sithgoblin3 Jedi Youngling star 3

May 4, 2001
    uh?

a mask of the footage... no colour...

8. WhisperingDeath

WhisperingDeath Jedi Padawan star 4

May 25, 2002