main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Artist Resources Computer tablets

Discussion in 'Fan Art' started by moosemousse, Dec 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moosemousse

moosemousse CR Emeritus: FF-UK South star 6

Oct 3, 2004
    I'm thinking that I need to get a tablet for my computer but I'd like some advice before I get one. I don't have much of an income and I'm not good at prioritising anything at all. Once I've upgraded my computer I plan on getting a new widescreen monitor though at the moment I have a 4:5 monitor. Should I get a decent 4:3 tablet now and keep my monitor or should I go for a decent wide tablet to go with the new monitor when I get it or should I just get a cheap 4:3 tablet and replace it when I replace my monitor?

That aside, I don't know which ones are good, other than Wacom ones and they're out of my budget range. Any recommendations on make and/or model would be greatly appreciated here.

2. Mar17swgirl

Mar17swgirl Chosen One star 7

Dec 26, 2000
    I bought a Genius G-Pen M609X tablet in March:

[image=http://cdn.slashgear.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/08/Genius_G-Pen-M609X-540x415.jpg]

It's pretty good, it's dual-mode, so it should work for both 4:3 and widescreen monitors. I got it from a Slovak online store that I almost always use when buying electronics, and it cost me 65 EUR - although I'm now checking Amazon.co.uk and it's over £80 there! :eek: That's almost double the price I paid for it!

3. CoruscantSunset

CoruscantSunset Jedi Youngling

Dec 1, 2010
    You said that you're not going to buy a Wacom, but my suggestion would be to reconsider that.
    The Intuos4 is out now, so the older Intuos are a lot cheaper due to that. If you could save up and buy an Intuos3 or even an Intuos2 I think you'd be a lot happier.