Coruscant Night time WIP

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by darthviper107, Aug 12, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    I got the buildings from Sci-fi 3D and I added some highlight lighting and put them together, now I just have to put it on the surface... by the way, How can I add an image?
  2. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    Ad an image tag, such as [ image = <linktomyimage> ]. <linktomyimage> = the link to your image (duh), and no spaces.

    -Josh
  3. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    I don't have it on a website, just on my computer.
  4. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    Alright, then I refer you to the FAQ Thread. Scroll down to the last post on the page, it is by Iyidin_Kyeimo, read the post and follow the instructions.

    -Olen
  5. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    Ok I Tried that, and it said that the servers copy had no data and the upload failed so I don't know what to do, maybe the server on the website is down
  6. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    Ok, email me your image, if there is more then one, put them in seperate emails. Make sure they are in jpeg format. My email address is jrs@gns2000.com

    -Olen
  7. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    I'm back and I have sent the pictures, but I need to add the lighting effects of the red glow near the ground, then add the dark blueish cloud backrounds, traffic, lens effects...
  8. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    Ok, here is the pic:

    [image=http://www.stromint.com/Images/Coruscantnighttime.JPG]

    IMO it is too dark, what about stars?

    -Olen
  9. InvidShocktrooper Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 10, 2003
    star 1
    It is too dark I think. As for stars this whole planet is a city and with that much light pollution I doubt you could see any from rooftop level even at these hieghts. It definately needs background scaping as that will alter the way these foreground buildings are portraying their lights. My 2 cents.
  10. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    But if darthviper made Coruscant this dark, then he should have added stars. ;)

    -Olen
  11. Darth_Steven Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2002
    star 2
    Aparently, even Coruscant was knocked offline with their power too! hahahahaha
    Where were you for the blackout of 2003? :)
  12. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    On the other side of the country, the blackout didn't touch me.

    -Olen
  13. Jedi_Kyeju Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2003
    star 4
    I was there and I was just about to get the forum and rock cyberspace like a hurricane. I laid my hand on the mouse and BAM! Lightsout. But this is way OT so yea that Coruscant is way too dark.
  14. drippyzeo Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 11, 2002
    star 4
    Coruscant is basically the city that never sleeps. So the ambient light from millions of buildings would probably leave the night sky washed out with light.
  15. lolleader Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 26, 2000
    star 2
    Agreed with all above.

    I've provided a link to some screenshots available at TFN. Check them out for reference:

    TFN Multimedia
  16. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    Well,I still have a lotto do,like adding the blue ambient lighting that I noticed in the speeder chase. And I need a good backround.But it's against a black backround so that is why it's so dark. plus if you look at the movie,you can't see any stars,just the dark blueness of night and clouds.
  17. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    Ya, but like I pointed out in my previous post, you could easily see stars in a city that dark.

    -Olen
  18. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    Yeah, but it's not going to be that dark, cause I still have to add omni lighting, I'm trying to make it look like it did in the speeder chase so I have a lot to do. by the way, the buildings in that picture were done by Maxer, I just added all of the highlight lighting for nighttime.
  19. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    Well, after you render your next shot, email me the jpeg.

    -Olen
  20. Olen_Garn Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    Ok, here is the next pic, it looks better, but still kinda dark.

    [image=http://www.stromint.com/Images/Coruscantnighttimeomni.jpg]

    -Olen
  21. InvidShocktrooper Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 10, 2003
    star 1
    I think the last pic here looks pretty good. Once you get the ambient glow from everything going on beneath it'll give the lighting a boost. It's hard to give an accurate view as all the total environment isn't in place to add it's lights, glows, reflections etc.
  22. Dr. Jones Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 6, 2000
    star 4
  23. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    It'll look better once the traffic, landing platforms and sky backround is added. But I'm working on the backround now and I guess it looks Ok, but it'll look better with the surface and everything else.
  24. Jedi_Kyeju Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2003
    star 4
    Hey what types of lights are you using because im trying to get the exact same lighting setup.
  25. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    On the buildings, I'm using free spots, and for the blur I just made an omni. This is all in Max 4.2.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.