main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Nash, TN Covering Costs

Discussion in 'SouthEast Regional Discussion' started by JediToren, Aug 24, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JediToren

JediToren Jedi Master star 4

Mar 20, 2000
    Since I have been working on the website so much I have been thinking about how our Fan Force chapter will pay for hosting, domain registration, etc. As well as have funds for traveling to conventions and for other events.
    Does anyone here speak legalese well enough to know if our Fan Force chapter could charge a monthly or bi-monthly dues?
    I'm no expert in the legal arena but I think that this would be within the letter of the law. For example, Blue Harvest is a fanzine that charges a subscription fee and sells back issues. While they are a magazine and we are a fan club, and there could be some legal differences there, I don't see why we could charge dues legally.

Now the other issue, even if it is legal to charge dues, should we? What would we have to gain by doing this and what would we have to lose?

The Benefits of dues: The small fee (20-40 dollars per year) for web hosting and domain name registration would be covered and one or two people would not have to shell out the whole thing. Assuming 40 dollars annually, with say, 10 members, over a year, the costs to each member would be 4 dollars per person per year, and 33 cents per month. As our numbers increase with public events like going to see the trailers, etc. the costs to each person could be reduced.
    While the website costs would be the only regular costs, dues could also be used to help raise money for events, like to help pay for gas and lodging for the trip to Indianapolis next may, or maybe even a fan film.
    Any thing we spend dues on besides regular website costs would have to be voted on, either via the website or at a meeting.