main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Discussions Do you prefer matte or glossy for your soft copy Novels

Discussion in 'EU Community' started by UnshavenWookie14, Oct 26, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UnshavenWookie14

UnshavenWookie14 Jedi Knight star 1

Oct 20, 2017
    I’m relatively new to the EU but I’m kind of hooked now. The other day I finished aftermath and went to pick up Life Debt and Empires End. Before I checked out I realized that I had grabbed one that had a gloss cover, and the other matte. I think the pages may have been slightly different as well. Unfortunately I’m extremely OCD about my series I decide to collect, so I had to put one back.

What’s your presence for reading/collecting? Other stuff like HP and GOT I have all Hardback. But I actually really liked the matte soft copies in this case (might be different for other SW Novels since Aftermath trio has some unique cover art). Not to mention if I try to go all hardback I’ll burn through a whole lot more bookshelf space, and dollars. But I thought the glossy just looked more likely to bend/curl/get dinged easily. And I just wasn’t crazy about the shiny plastic look. Thought the matte was sharper overall, and doesn’t take creasing/bending to cover to keep the book open when you’re reading.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Lady_Belligerent

Lady_Belligerent Queen of the RPF, SWC, C&P, and Pancakes & Waffles star 10 Staff Member Manager

Jan 29, 2008
    I’ve tried to back off buying the physical copies and get digital. It makes me a little sad, but I’m just out of space for more books.

3. Pacified_llama

Pacified_llama Jedi Master star 3

Sep 15, 2017
    I follow the old-fashioned method of paperback first, then if it's a really impressive book, I'll buy the hardback a few months later.
    If the book is old then I'll get it second hand.