main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Phx Does anyone here do flash?

Discussion in 'SouthWest Region Discussion' started by Kev-Mas_Colcha, Jan 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kev-Mas_Colcha

    Kev-Mas_Colcha Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Because I need my website done in flash, because I tried doing multiple links on one picture, on different areas, along with text on one side, with HTML, and it didn't work.

    So, the next best thing is Flash, of course, but, maybe the thing can be coded in HTML, but I dunno.

    Here's the picture with how I want it to be set up:

    [image=http://e.1asphost.com/blananar/jedirepublicsitepic.png]

    Also, if the links thing (if done in flash) could pop down, that would be cool.
     
  2. Tobar

    Tobar Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Sep 18, 2002
    I did this without Flash:
    http://www.trandonana.com

    I can dig up a tutorial for ya.
     
  3. KREATOR

    KREATOR Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Apr 28, 2003
    I've done some but it's been a while. Not an expert.
     
  4. Dikion

    Dikion Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Oct 3, 2003
    You don't need flash for doing links in parts of pictures.
    All you need is javascript. I think it's "image mapping", but I wouldn't swear to it.
    It's been so long, I'd have to check out my book which is at work.

    And I'm not sure what you mean about "pop down" but sounds like a roll over thing, which is also javascript.

    -D-

    EDIT [link=http://www.webmonkey.com]webmonkey [/link] does say how under Authoring.
     
  5. Jinnetics

    Jinnetics Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Apr 8, 1999
    I found this. Don't know if it will help you.

    http://www.w3schools.com/html/tryit.asp?filename=tryhtml_areamap
     
  6. DarthFeldman

    DarthFeldman Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    May 16, 2002
    i do flash...


    nevermind..bad joke......

     
  7. Dikion

    Dikion Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Oct 3, 2003
    After looking it up, it's not javascript.
    It is called imagemapping. You would probably want a Client-Side based imagemap and will need an imagemapper program. I got mine for free while in school, but it looks like the site is charging $10.
    Check it out at [link=http://www.boutell.com/mapedit/] mapedit [/link]

    and tucows.com has a couple of shareware if you wanted to see if it's going to do what you want before you buy one.

    -D-
     
  8. Commander_Choad

    Commander_Choad Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Sep 11, 2002
    It can actually be done with just paint - it displays the true co-ordinates of your cursor, and once you plug that in, it will then use those ref points to set the active areas of the image. This sets a rectangular active area within the image - you can also use shape=circ for a circle, with the center co-ord specified then the radius in pixels (i.e. 167,22,30) or use shape=poly for an irregular polygon, with each of the co-ords mapped out. (See the example below)

    I would recommend [link=http://www.boogiejack.com/html_tutorials.html]BoogieJack's[/link] website - under the webmaster section. It has great HTML tutorials.

    EDIT: the main page seems to be down - but the link has been edited to take you directly to the tutorials.

    <IMG SRC="outlook_more1.jpg" USEMAP="#more1" BORDER=0></P>
    <MAP NAME="more1">
    <AREA SHAPE=RECT COORDS="16,327,88,347" HREF="outlook_srvr.html" ALT="Click Here for more">
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.