main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Egads! I'm a noob!

Discussion in 'Welcome New Users' started by oqidaun, Jul 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oqidaun

oqidaun Manager Emeritus star 5 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Jul 20, 2005
    I've not been a noob anywhere for a long time, so posting in the obligatory noob thread is a reasonably humbling experience.

A little about me...
    I'm an old school Star Wars fan, i.e., I'm thirty, and in the greater scheme of things I've probably been hit in the head one too many times with a DIY lightsaber. One of the defining moments in my Star Wars experience was the change in the music at end of ROTJ for the re-release in 1997--I'd hated the Muppetized Ewok song since 1983. I travel with at least one action figure at all times, which can be awkward when traveling overseas. I just returned from a international conference at Oxford (I'm an academic) that I took a destroyer droid to just in case someone asked "Where are those Destroyer droids?" I could say, "I've got your Destroyer droid right here, mofo!" Yeah, that's pretty dorky, but I find it funny. Kit Fisto and I were held up in the security corral this past weekend and he had to be x-rayed.

Pathetic fic plug: I also write fanfic of the obtuse variety. I'm serializing a work in progress on fanfiction.hell (http://www.fanfiction.net/~oqidaun) and when it's finished I'd like to be able to have it posted over here.

Top Ten Star Wars Things I like:
    Admiral Piett, Death Sticks, 500 Republica, Boba Fett, Kit Fisto, Crispy Critter Anakin screaming "I hate you!", Vader's double take in ESB, Yoda's funky soup, Darth Maul and The Executor crashing into the Death Star

Other things I like: