main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

EGM's top ten best systems of all time

Discussion in 'Archive: Games' started by Shadow_of_Durron, Jan 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shadow_of_Durron

Shadow_of_Durron Jedi Knight star 6

May 2, 2003
    In the latest issue of EGM, there's an article listing their picks for the best systems of all time. I was just wondering what other people thought about their picks. Here's the list for those who haven't seen it:

10. Nintendo 64

9. Dreamcast

8. Gamecube

7. Genesis

6. Xbox

5. Playstation 2

4. Game Boy Advance

3. Super Nintendo

2. Playstation

1. Nintendo Entertainment System

They gave reasons for each system being where they were, but I really don't feel like typing all that out. :p

I generally agree with EGM's list, but there are a couple of change I'd make. First of all, the only system on the list that I have no experience with is the Genesis, so I'd have to put it at #10. Nothing personal. :p

Secondly, I think the Dreamcast should be much higher. I think the Dreamcast had, by far, the best ratio of great games to crap games of any system on the list. Sure it had its share of crap games, (what system doesn't?) but they were few and far between. It's really a shame that it didn't get the support it needed to keep Sega afloat as a hardware developer.