main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Spok, WA Expanded Universe

Discussion in 'Pacific Regional Discussion' started by jestermac4, Feb 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jestermac4

jestermac4 Jedi Youngling

Feb 16, 2005
    Hey there everyone. I'm new to the fan forums, so if this question has already been discussed, just let me know...but I'm curious. I read something the other day just completely trashing the Expanded Universe. All of the books, the video games, and other related things. Now, I'm not trying to start a riot, but I'm just curious what everyone's take on the Expanded Universe is. I love it myself. Yeah, I was a little pissed at the people they killed off in the New Jedi Order series, but even heroes can't live forever. I think it's awesome that people have given so much life to the Star Wars universe. Instead of having the 5(soon to be 6) movies as all there is, we have a huge number of books and video games that stretch the story out and bring us new characters. Look at what it has brought us so far....both Corran Horn and Mara Jade. These were two excellent characters and I think it's great that they are out there. Anywho...what does everyone else feel? Again, I'm not trying to start a battle here or upset people, I'm just curious.

2. Daramin_of_The_Way

Daramin_of_The_Way Jedi Padawan star 4

Oct 30, 2004
    I like the EU for two reasons:
    1. It allows for greater exoploration of characters and events
    2. It introduces new characters, like you said Mara and Corran, Kyle Katarn, and so on.
    I dislike it for two reasons:
    1. Some of the stories I disagree with, where characters go and so on
    2. It provides a huge ground for conflict between the movies and EU
    That being said, while I don't always agree with what authors write I do like the diversity that it adds to the Star Wars galaxy.

3. JarusSarn

JarusSarn Jedi Padawan star 4