main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Fandom!

Discussion in 'FanForce Community' started by sophmedia, Nov 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sophmedia

sophmedia Jedi Youngling

Nov 11, 2010
    I am currently in my second year at university studying media and visual cultures. One of my assignements is subculture and fandom, in which I will be writing a 5000 word essay on Star Wars fans. The purpose for joining this fan club is to try and understand fan behaviour including issues regarding identities, empowerment, relationships, personal accounts of fans own developments and any possible ideologies within the fandom. Therefore, I would be very greatful if any fans of could help me in doing so, in terms of answering questionnares or generally sharing their personal experiences of why they are fans.
    I am trying to figure out this site and the easiest way to communicate with fans who are willing to help me?! for example private messages. Any help would be very helpful.

2. Skiara

Skiara ~• RSA FFC •~ star 10 Staff Member Manager

Nov 5, 2002
    An essay about Fandom... That sounds difficult - especially since it takes time to understand fandom. How much time do you have for your essay?

I would guess posting your questions here and starting a discussion would be the best way. :)

(Btw, starting the same thread in various boards might be frowned uppon by some, so if you like to start further threads about the same topic, please, talk to a mod first. That helps to avoid misunderstandings. :) )

3. sophmedia

sophmedia Jedi Youngling

Nov 11, 2010
    Ok Thank you. I have two weeks to write it all and apply alot of thoery!
    Below is a few questions that I hoe will help me out.