main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Forum Upgrade 2017

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Grimby , Dec 23, 2017.

  1. themoth

    themoth Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Dec 5, 2015
    As long as I can access the site and the basic look remains I’m cool. So I’m a fan of the upgrade.
     
  2. Ewok Poet

    Ewok Poet Force Ghost star 5

    Registered:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Since everybody is ignoring @Nanaki who asked about Tapatalk, I'm asking, too. :p A bunch of us use it to catch up with whatever's new, without essentially using a browser and a more complex interface. It's just handy on the go. It's not only a couple of weirdos using it.

    Another thing that would be awesome to have as an option would be to expand quoted posts by default, should we want it that way.

    Other things I noticed so far:

    - The horizontal rule BBCode does not work.

    - The smiley pop-up is not loading and, from what I have seen, it's supposed to load on the bottom of the edit box.

    - The option to edit the topic title is confusing and once accessed, it's not possible to change prefixes as well.

    - When an user info modal pops up, the username is barely visible - on a high-quality desktop computer monitor. The contrast is low.

    Other than that, since I stalked you on social media throughout and bugged you more than anybody else did - thank you so much for everything you have done. When I saw that the theme was called "FlatAwesome" I had some concerns because the whole flat trend tends to be kind of blah, but it turned out beautiful. Search works, MULTI-TAGGING IS FINALLY THERE...so, yeah, almost perfect, overall. BRAVI E BRAVE! :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2017
    Tarsier, Binder-lover and Nanaki like this.
  3. VadersLaMent

    VadersLaMent Chosen One star 10

    Registered:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Had a nice hour long outage just now.
     
  4. Diego Lucas

    Diego Lucas Jedi Knight star 4

    Registered:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Nice look, well done
    Merry christmas for all The Force page!!
     
    Juliet316 likes this.
  5. Subtext Mining

    Subtext Mining Jedi Knight star 3

    Registered:
    Apr 27, 2016
    I wrote up a post here before the update. Then copied it over to a Word document (as I often do). Then today when the forums came back up I pasted it in to post it, but whenever I try to post, preview or more options, I just get a "500 Internal Server Error" message.

    Can you not successfully post copy/pasted things from other programs in here now?
     
    Mistress_Renata likes this.
  6. gezvader28

    gezvader28 Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Mar 22, 2003
    are the boards working right ?

    when I click on a board icon (Senate for instance ) I just get "No new threads have been posted "
     
  7. WarmNyota_SweetAyesha

    WarmNyota_SweetAyesha Chosen One star 7

    Registered:
    Aug 31, 2004
    I have a question about conversations. I get messages from others fine, but where it says conversation participants, instead of something like 2, it says 0. When I try to reply, I get "A server error has occurred. Please try again later." :confused:
     
  8. Subtext Mining

    Subtext Mining Jedi Knight star 3

    Registered:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Yep, same here.
     
  9. Bazinga'd

    Bazinga'd Hand of the Mod Squad and Enforcer of the Realm star 6 Staff Member Manager

    Registered:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Guys thanks for your input. We are aware of some of these issues and we are working to iron things out.
     
  10. Darkslayer

    Darkslayer Force Ghost star 6

    Registered:
    Mar 26, 2013
    I dig the new layout!
     
  11. starfish

    starfish Jedi Grand Master star 4

    Registered:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Looks good.

    I appreciate all the work you folks are doing. Especially as some one who is very much not a tech savy person.
     
  12. Sith-I-5

    Sith-I-5 Force Ghost star 6

    Registered:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Due to RL (I'm giving my phone a few minutes charge before I head across country), I cannot check my sources until maybe Wednesday, but when I ran a SW club website, I deliberately investigated making my content suitable across platforms.

    That, I believe is the correct approach, but not if you have set width to "Fixed", which I believe was a response we got earlier in this thread.
    If you set width to a number of characters across the screen, then regardless of resolution or platform, what passes for memory with me, thinks that that the characters will expand or shrink to fit the environment, but you will always get that character count across your screen.
     
  13. Mistress_Renata

    Mistress_Renata Manager Emeritus star 5 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Sep 9, 2000
    I'm getting the Error Code 500 when trying to paste from Word, too, and don't see the smilies.

    Still, seems to be running more smoothly! Yay, @Grahame & all the hard-working Admins who have been sweating over this for a few months! If I could give you your own :r2: as a thank you, I would! [:D]
     
  14. Django Fett

    Django Fett Jedi Grand Master star 4

    Registered:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Looks great, lets see how it runs.
     
  15. Grahame

    Grahame Server Admin star 1 Staff Member Administrator

    Registered:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Sorry for any brief interruption there, I left a log turned on and it filled up the temp space. All fixed now.

    edit : this may also have been the source of the problem with server 500 errors when pasting from word, but not 100% sure on that.
     
  16. Xammer

    Xammer Jedi Master

    Registered:
    Jan 31, 2009
    What about restoring the posts cut by the update in 2012?
     
  17. Subtext Mining

    Subtext Mining Jedi Knight star 3

    Registered:
    Apr 27, 2016
    My post just worked, that might've been it ;) Thanks!
     
  18. Grahame

    Grahame Server Admin star 1 Staff Member Administrator

    Registered:
    Sep 3, 2012
    There's definitely an issue with Tapatalk, server error log is full of errors. Hopefully @Grimby can take a look later, I'm not well-versed with the intricacies of plugins here yet (I just handle the server-side stuff).
     
  19. Grahame

    Grahame Server Admin star 1 Staff Member Administrator

    Registered:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Oh, while we had the downtime about 20 minutes ago I also took the opportunity to upgrade PHP to v7.1 (we were on 5.4 because it was the last version that worked with Xenforo 1.1.x). Upgrading PHP seems to have fixed the speed issues.
     
  20. Sarge

    Sarge Chosen One star 6

    Registered:
    Oct 4, 1998
    Darned youngsters always changing stuff. Didn't need any of this fancy frippery back in '98. Harumph.

    Don't mind me; I'm just feeling curmudgeonly.
    ;)
     
  21. Leoluca Randisi

    Leoluca Randisi Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Jun 24, 2014
    will take time to get used to.
     
  22. Ewok Poet

    Ewok Poet Force Ghost star 5

    Registered:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Aaaand...until this moment, I thought @Grimby and @Grahame were the same person, that one changed the username to the other. Now I'm laughing.

    I get this when I try to respond to you. Maybe we're cursed.

    That is not how CSS works. There is no point in teaching web developers how to use message boards and how to do their own job. Sure, we're the people who think everybody else is an idiot, but daaaaarn, aren't we smart? [face_tee_hee]

    However, this would help:
    https://j.eremy.net/confused-about-rem-and-em/

    That's the spirit! :) :) :) They totes deserve droids!
     
    Mitth_Fisto likes this.
  23. jcgoble3

    jcgoble3 Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Nov 7, 2010
    I checked the CSS through Firefox's "Inspect Element" feature, and the forum is using a declaration of "max-width: 1180px;". So it is indeed a maximum width and not a fixed width. Also, I was using the forums on my phone earlier this morning, and it adjusted to the screen width just fine. So that's working.
     
    Sith-I-5 and Ewok Poet like this.
  24. Sith-I-5

    Sith-I-5 Force Ghost star 6

    Registered:
    Aug 14, 2002
    @jcgoble - cool, okay! That's good.

    Although, there must be a setting that is creating the black vertical bars on the side...
     
    jcgoble3 likes this.
  25. Leoluca Randisi

    Leoluca Randisi Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Jun 24, 2014
    I am glad the boards are back on line this Is like a second home to me In a way Your all like family I was sad I might not hear from any of you during the Holidays.