[GEN] If you have a technical error, log it in here.

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Gandalf the Grey, Jul 15, 2003.

Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    I think Grimby put that up. He might know if you can permanently block it. You can close it - over on the right hand side there's an 'x' in a red box. (It's small).
  2. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    Try completely closing out Chrome (all open windows) and restarting it. That usually works for me when pages with a lot of Flash slow the browser down. If that doesn't work, you can try closing it as LAJ suggested, or maybe try using an ad blocker to block it from loading.
  3. Darth McClain Arena Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Feb 5, 2000
    star 6
    I'll keep that in mind. Thanks, guys!
  4. dewback_rancher Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2009
    star 4
    I just started getting the antivirus warnings from the banners again. Literally just started, and I headed here the instant it began.
  5. Rew Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2008
    star 4
    I just got one too.
  6. Katana_Geldar Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Mar 3, 2003
    star 8
    Me too, haven't had it for a while but few hours ago got the AV warning and I logged off.
  7. soitscometothis Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2003
    star 5
    Avast's warning siren tells me we've got problems again.:(
  8. Taral-DLOS Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2009
    star 3
    I just got one too. It's never happened to me before.

    This is what McAfee had to say (I omitted my username and any other computer-identifying info:

    2010/11/23 8:33:58 AM Script execution blocked <username> iexplore.exe(http://boards.theforce.net/board.asp?brd=10003) Script executed by iexplore.exe Exploit-HelpOverflow (Trojan)
  9. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Firefox isn't kicking anything up for me nor does Google have us tagged as a bad site. Do you recall what board you were on when it happened? Maybe it's just a bad banner script.

    Edit - the boards were running really slowly last night when I went off. That was around noon board time. And the error message above lists the board as Lit (board 10003). Where the rest of you there when it happened?

    Edit2 - OK. I went into Lit and got error messages for Adobe, similar to stuff last time. I've swapped out the banner there for a different one. If you get the errors on any other board please let us know. I've reported the problem in MS and in the Admin forum. Hopefully we've nipped it in the bud this time.
  10. Mikaboshi Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 12, 2005
    star 6
    I am getting the same thing, on all boards I go to. EU, Communications, Star Wars Community, RPF, Census....

    Pretty much the same message I was getting last time when tf.net was tagged by google.
  11. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    Can you guys provide more information on exactly what warnings/errors you're getting?
  12. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    So far I've only gotten it in Lit, and that was earlier before I switched the banner. All I had was an Adobe message come up saying something like 'Invalid Operation'. That's in Firefox 3.6.4 on Win XP. Norton didn't trip at all. When I tried Lit again I thought I saw a reference to Imageshack in the display of things loading in the lower left hand corner of the browser. I've only just come back on and so far I haven't had any problems.
  13. dewback_rancher Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2009
    star 4
    Same as last time I had this problem- here's the full text of the alert message:

    Online Shield alert

    Accessed file is infected

    Threat was blocked!

    File name: www1.theforce.net/jc/jc_scripts/headcall.js

    Threat name: virus found in HTML/Framer

    Then it has 'more information about this threat', but the link won't take you anywhere even if you click it.
  14. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    Thanks for that. In the last hour or so I think I've nailed down the problem. We're going to be changing all of the banners to make sure this problem doesn't persist.
  15. dewback_rancher Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 23, 2009
    star 4
  16. timmoishere Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2007
    star 6
    I was getting an "Access Denied" message a few minutes ago when I tried to type in the direct URL for a couple of the forums here. It seems to have gone away for now, but it might be something that's worth looking into.
  17. Mikaboshi Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 12, 2005
    star 6
    Sorry I didn't think to give more info earlier Grimby, but what ever you did worked because it isn't happening now.
  18. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    Thanks for the info everyone. If you continue getting any errors, please keep posting them.

    We've currently resorted to switching all forums to a banner that uses different code. Whatever vulnerability the previous code might have been causing, it's not happening anymore with this banner.
  19. timmoishere Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2007
    star 6
    Not to mention that the boards run much faster now.
  20. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    This is roughly the same banner code that will be used on the new boards, so I'm glad to hear things are running a bit faster. :)
  21. Juliet316 Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Apr 27, 2005
    star 8
    So everything's going to be in uniformity from now on? No more Individual banners for each board?
  22. JediMaster1511 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2010
    star 9
    I'm having a PM convo with someone and the Face_Tongues seem to not be working for her at times. I'm not having any trouble yet, but she has been for the last few PMs.
  23. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    Juliet, we will be making new individual banners for each board. We can't go back the other ones though, unfortunately, until after the move. At least for the time being, we've eliminated the malicious code by switching to this new banner.
  24. Mikaboshi Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 12, 2005
    star 6
    On the main page of tf.net I am getting the same trend micro av message that I was getting the other day. "Unauthorized URL Detected!" "http://the-imageshack.com/291058/index.php"
  25. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Just to verify - that's on the main page of TFN Main, not these boards?
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza