[GEN] If you have a technical error, log it in here.

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Gandalf the Grey, Jul 15, 2003.

Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. Mikaboshi Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 12, 2005
    star 6
    Yeah, it was on the tf.net main page (not the forums). It's not doing it now though, so not sure if you already tried something but if you did it worked.
  2. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 8
    I left a note in the Admin forum about it. The boards are so slow for me right now that I can't do anything useful. (I think it's my broadband as opposed to problems here.) Graphics are real slow.
  3. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    If you do see it on TheForce.net's main page again, please try to gather as much info as you can and post it here. I'm going to email Philip about this right away just in case.
  4. G-FETT Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 10, 2001
    star 7
    For me the page downloads are astonishingly fast! I've never known the JC forums to run so fast. :eek:
  5. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 8
    Thanks for the heads-up, Despised1. As Grimby said, if you (or anyone else) encounters it on TFN Main please let us know everything that you can. (Error messages, AV messages, etc.)
  6. Shadow_Wolf75 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 18, 2005
    star 1
    I just got a virus popup here again, going into The Saga fanfiction board. Avast keeps coming up with this address (and I've broken the link for safety reasons): http:// the-imageshack.com /291058/index.php|>{gzip} . It says there's a trojan called JS:Downloader-ABU. I finally just went and blocked the website at my router.
  7. Tarsier Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 31, 2005
    star 3
    I get a warning when I try to go to theforce.net main page. I use Google Chrome, this is what comes up:

    Warning: Visiting this site may harm your computer!
    The website at theforce.net contains elements from the site the-imageshack.com, which appears to host malware ? software that can hurt your computer or otherwise operate without your consent. Just visiting a site that contains malware can infect your computer.
    For detailed information about the problems with these elements, visit the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page for the-imageshack.com.


    If I follow the link to the diagnostic page, I get this:

    What is the current listing status for the-imageshack.com?
    Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your computer.

    Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 2 time(s) over the past 90 days.

    What happened when Google visited this site?
    Of the 23 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 0 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-11-24, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-11-24.
    Malicious software includes 127 scripting exploit(s), 114 exploit(s).

    This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS25129 (MONITORING).

    Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
    Over the past 90 days, the-imageshack.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

    Has this site hosted malware?
    Yes, this site has hosted malicious software over the past 90 days. It infected 12 domain(s), including filmofilia.com/, freeexampapers.com/, twnpnews.com/.


    I can try to get some screen grabs if that helps. I haven't had any problems with the forums.
  8. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 8
    I've gone there using Firefox without problems. It's possible Google had the site blacklisted and that has now been lifted. I know Grimby emailed the site owner and tech person about the problem yesterday.
  9. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 8
    I checked Saga - it's using the same banner as the rest of the site and that should be clean. Anyone else still getting warnings on any of the boards? (If so, which one and is it the same error as above?)
  10. RX_Sith C&G Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Mar 13, 2006
    star 5
    Yes, the error is still the same as above and is still occurring when you click any of the links in TheForce.Net below.
  11. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    TFN staff are currently working on fixing both the boards and TFN Main. Anthony says he found the problem and will be monitoring it to see if it comes back. If you are still getting warnings, they suggest clearing your browser's cache and refreshing the page.
  12. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 8
    Done both. I'm still getting the warning in Firefox.
  13. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    I don't think the warning is going to go away just because you clear your cache. The warning is there because the site is blacklisted - just like last time.
  14. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 8
    Yeah - I guess they still have to have Google unlist it as malware.
  15. GrandAdmiralJello Community and Lit moderator person

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 28, 2000
    star 10
    Removing the scripts that normally run with the banners has done remarkable things for load times, even with modern fast javascript crunching browsers.
  16. Barriss_Coffee Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2003
    star 6
    I have encountered a serious problem as of late.

    The forums now load .3 seconds longer due to the installation of all these silly banners.

    This is unacceptable.
  17. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    I am sorry for your hardship. This is indeed unacceptable. We will double our efforts in order to quickly find a solution to this problem.
  18. harpua Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2005
    star 8
    Got the malicious code warning from Google Chrome again... some imageshack file / image is causing the site to be flagged, apparently... joyous.
  19. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    What page were you on? Can you try clearing your cache and trying again? It should be gone.
  20. DK_Force85 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 13, 2006
    star 4
    I'm getting it too, on all pages.

    Edit: The problem seems to be fixed. That was fast!

    Edit #2: I take that back. It's still doing it.
  21. Katana_Geldar Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Mar 3, 2003
    star 8
    I'm getting a coding Trojan with McAfree and I use IE 8.
  22. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    I haven't seen anything in Firefox since we switched the banners back. I opened up Chrome though and got the malicious code warning right away. However, I cleared my cache, restarted Chrome, and everything is back to normal. I would recommend trying that.
  23. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 8
    I'm not seeing anything in Firefox either. I've been here and on TFN Main this morning and both are fine. As Grimby suggested, try clearing your internet temp files to see if that helps.
  24. Lexi Host of Quick-Games

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2002
    star 4
    I use Firefox and I get the warning about "Reported Attack Site!"
  25. darthhelinith Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 10, 2009
    star 5
    Just started getting the generic attack warnings through firefox.

    I've had to disable them just so I could post here.


    EDIT: ALERT ALERT!


    Just had sophos flag me-
    a plug-in in the temp. folder classed as virus/spyware

    "C:\Documents and Settings\Ellen\Local Settings\Temp\plugtmp\plugin-pdf.php"

    Apparently its Troj/PDFEx-DW
    We're under attack again.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza