main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

JCC General Thread for Veterinarians and Technicians

Discussion in 'Community' started by Aravis Kenobi, May 10, 2014.

?

Veterinarian or Technician?

1. Veterinarian

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. Technician

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  3. Assistant

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  4. Practice Manager

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  5. Other Member of Veterinary Team

1 vote(s)
    20.0%
  1. Aravis Kenobi

Aravis Kenobi Jedi Youngling

May 8, 2014
    As a licensed veterinary technician, I'm always interested in 'meeting' other technicians and veterinarians who also happen to be Star Wars fans, Trekkies, etc. While we all love our jobs, wouldn't it be nice to have somewhere to discuss non-work related items with fellow fans who are also members of your professional field? I would love to meet other fans who are also members of my field, and to know a little bit about your work! Also this is open for other members of the field, such as practice managers and assistants.

I work in a small town in North Texas, pretty much so close to Oklahoma that we can shake hands with someone across the river. My practice is a 2 doctor, 1 technician (myself) practice that does mainly companion animals, food animal, and equine. We also have some clients who own pet birds. So we do everything. We've even seen a squirrel or two! I graduated with my B.S. in Veterinary Technology from Mississippi State University. I've considered going into a specialty, but have decided that it most likely wouldn't be worth it since my practice is small enough that I probably couldn't get the certification requirements done.

What about y'all?

2. Jabba-wocky

Jabba-wocky Chosen One star 10

May 4, 2003
    No baiting

3. Aravis Kenobi

May 8, 2014
    Also, feel free to post fun stories about experiences you've had at work. I've been head butted by a goat before...not really the goat's fault, it was more of an incidental thing. Haha.