main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Graphics cards, animation and editing software.

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by BobaFrank, Feb 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BobaFrank

BobaFrank Jedi Youngling star 5

Jul 17, 2001
    I already have a thread on advice for buying a miniDV camera and was wanting advice on editing and animation software along with a graphics card.

I have an Athlon AMD computer with a 2.2gig processor, 1gig of RAM, and 2 40gig hard drives. I'm going to increase my RAM another gig, and add another hard drive (120gig) specifically for downloading footage and rendering.

I'll be buying a low-end miniDV camera like a Canon ZR60 or 65. And I'm pretty sure I'll be buying Premiere for my editing software.

What's the best combo as far as animation software and a graphics card? I'll be using it for shortfilms plus my SW Fanfilm. I'm a novice when it comes to animation so I don't think I want to get into anything high-end at the moment but I don't want junk either.

Anyway I'd appreciate any help. :)

2. Anonymous_Jedi

Anonymous_Jedi Jedi Grand Master star 4

Apr 4, 2001
    Any good animation software will work well with all major video cards. The best cards for that type of thing is actually higher end cards, but they're in the $4-500 range. Something like the Quadro FX is what you want, but I doubt you are looking to spend that much :) So I'd recommend the ATI 9600XT, good price for some very nice power. $200

3. Jamball

Jamball Jedi Youngling star 3

Feb 6, 2004
    I'm running a dual celeron (1.8's) for my editing machine all I use a 9700pro. Works pretty great for me.

--Jamball

4. SuprSpy79

SuprSpy79 Jedi Youngling star 2

Jul 24, 2003
    im running a 2.6ghz P4 800mhz fsb with Hyper Threading and a 9800 pro. I cant complain it runs like a dream.

5. VoijaRisa

VoijaRisa Jedi Master star 5

Oct 12, 2002