main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Han's past as an Imperial

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by Jara_Dax, Oct 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jara_Dax

Jara_Dax Jedi Youngling star 1

Oct 6, 2004
    I'm new at the online Star Wars fandom but my muse got tickled so I started writing an AU fic to ANH. I haven't read any of the EU books (and I don't really intend to start reading them either) but I was using one of the plots from the books that Han used to be an Imperial. However, I noticed a discussion on another board that pointed out some differences between the movies and the books. So now I'm wondering if I shouldn't just ignore the books all together and scratch that piece of information, just make up my own history for Han.

How do most writers around here handle the movies and the books?

2. Sara_Kenobi

Sara_Kenobi Jedi Grand Master star 7

Sep 21, 2000
    I usually just write my own history for the character's I'm not familiar with. Someone yet might be able to tell you about Han's EU history though. I'm kind of curious now myself. ;)

3. Jara_Dax

Oct 6, 2004
    *nods* I do know a bit about his history from the starwars.com databank but the info is somewhat limited. I'm just wondering if it's wise to use EU canon when I haven't read it. I could probably make the plot work with out. Well, I hope I can make it work. My first Star Wars fanfic and my muse is whacking me around the ears with a very serious plot.

4. Lilith Demodae

Lilith Demodae Jedi Grand Master star 4

Oct 1, 1999
    If you're writing an AU, do whatever you want. Go ahead and use the EU info as you remember it, or overheard it, or adjust it to what you need it to be for your story. That's what's so great about AU. Anything goes and no one can tell you you're wrong or that it doesn't comform with previous information.